ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Gripes and Goodies
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Gripes and Goodies Software problems and suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2015
Anna Lisa Dierking
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default "flying" conveyor skirt

Hi,

I found a conveyor skirt piece not attached to the end of a conveyor in my model (when in render mode using the conveyor module).
This only happens if you create a new conveyor attached to an already existing one. If you create two conveyors and attach them afterwards, this does not happen and if you add another conveyor behind the one with the "flying" piece then the piece disappears as well.
I came across this issue in FlexSim 7.5 and FlexSim 7.7 beta 1.

Am I not supposed to attach new conveyors directly to existing ones?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Conveyor Skirt V7.5.PNG
Views:	572
Size:	260.8 KB
ID:	2972   Click image for larger version

Name:	Conveyor Skirt V7.7.png
Views:	541
Size:	717.5 KB
ID:	2973  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2015
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 732
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I think I have occasionally seen this issue, but it's hard for me to replicate. In doing exactly as you're describing, right now I can't get it to do what you're seeing. Usually, though, even when this does happen, if you just grab the conveyor with the weird side skirt and reposition it into its place, it should fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2015
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 732
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Another idea is to check the model tree to see that all of the conveyors are accounted for. I think sometimes the model might acquire some "invisible" conveyors, i.e. conveyors with 0 length or some other weird geometry. So if you check that every conveyor in the tree matches with a conveyor you can see in the 3D view, and delete any extra conveyors, that might fix it.

Again it's hard for me to replicate because I don't know exactly which sequence of clicks causes the extra conveyors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2015
Anna Lisa Dierking
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you for your answers.

It's not a problem to get rid off the flying piece (like you described), but I was wondering where it is coming from.
I checked the model tree but could not find any additional conveyor.

I made a gif so I hope you can see sequence of clicks that causes the flying piece. As you can see it does not happen every time when I click on a conveyor to add another one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	conveyor skirt.gif
Views:	577
Size:	337.9 KB
ID:	2985  
Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Anna Lisa Dierking For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (08-18-2015), Carsten Seehafer (08-22-2015), David Chan (08-18-2015), Jörg Vogel (08-18-2015), Kris Geisberger (08-18-2015), Phil BoBo (08-18-2015), RalfGruber (08-18-2015), Sebastian Hemmann (08-18-2015)
  #5  
Old 08-18-2015
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 732
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Anna,
I must compliment you on your methodical way of reporting this. When users give a step-by-step on how to replicate the issue, it makes our work much easier. Thanks. I can now replicate it and we'll have a fix in the next version.
Anthony Johnson
Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Anthony Johnson For This Useful Post:
Anna Lisa Dierking (08-19-2015), arunkrmahadeva (08-18-2015), Carsten Seehafer (08-22-2015), David Chan (08-18-2015), Sebastian Hemmann (08-18-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Negative values for conveyor "Product Z-Offset" in Flexsim 7 achuta kalidindi Q&A 3 02-26-2014 06:59 PM
How can you have a visual tool that has a mixture of "protected" and "no select"? thill Q&A 1 03-13-2012 12:44 AM
Is it possible one object comprised of the function of "combiner" and "separetor"? Vic Li Q&A 1 08-19-2008 04:41 AM
about "no select" and "show parameter window from side bar" qin tian Gripes and Goodies 3 03-21-2008 08:10 AM
"Getting Started" and "Tutorial" models for v4.01 Cliff King Product Announcements 0 12-10-2007 07:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.