ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2012
Stephan Seidel's Avatar
Stephan Seidel Stephan Seidel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 36
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 26
Thanked 22 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 145
Stephan Seidel will become famous soon enough
Question Stop and reset an animation

Hi,

this may be a bit of a stupid question but I'll ask anyway. I have a queue of operators walking along a network path. Over time a queue builds up and the operators will stop. Now what happens is that the operators freeze in their position which can be the middle of a step which looks weird. I tried to play around with two commands on the OnArrival trigger of the network node:
  • stopanimation(traveler, "Walk");
  • startanimation(traveler, "Stand");
Stopanimation has no effect because the animation is stopped anyway when the operator runs into the queue. Startanimation will play the Stand-animation but the return to the weird position after it played once.

What I'd like to use is a resetanimation(traveler) command, but that doesnt exist.

I've got the feeling that I overlook something here. So what is the simple solution to stopping and resetting the animation of a walking operator?


Cheers,
Stephan
__________________
---
You can't have it both ways.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2012
Vadim Fooks's Avatar
Vadim Fooks Vadim Fooks is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 67
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 50
Thanked 24 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 112
Vadim Fooks will become famous soon enough
Default

I had a similar problem which I solved by adding a delay after the animation to give it a chance to finish. IMHO it makes sense because you probably do not want to start the next action, before the one simulated by this animation is finished.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Vadim Fooks For This Useful Post:
Jörg Vogel (10-25-2012), Stephan Seidel (10-29-2012)
Reply

Tags
animation, operator, stopanimation, walking

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Animation Creator - Add tool to TE hand CSaunders Gripes and Goodies 0 04-12-2012 05:14 PM
Animation of the ASRS questions Steven Hamoen Q&A 2 04-07-2011 03:11 AM
Animation Creator Esther Bennett Q&A 5 06-12-2010 07:21 AM
Frame Animation based on Time Shanon Loughton Q&A 4 04-06-2009 09:57 AM
Make sure you stop model with the stop button before collecting state based statistics Paul Dowling Tips and Tricks 2 06-10-2008 08:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.