ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2012
Shahin Gelareh Shahin Gelareh is offline
Postdoctoral Researcher
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Polytech'Lille, France
Posts: 100
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 46
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Shahin Gelareh is on a distinguished road
Default Collaborative transport

Using Coordinated Task Sequences: Two objects transporters collaborate to deliver a box. When they arrived they both MUST wait until a crane discharges one of them which actually contains the box, delivers its content.
But, in the model I have when they both arrive one of them leaves immediately before waiting the crane to discharge the container which is inside the other one. The empty truck leaves.

Anyone know a trick for that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2012
Normand Côté Normand Côté is offline
SNC-Lavalin GTS
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 17
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 164
Normand Côté will become famous soon enough
Default

You may use insertsynctask(obj tasksequence, num taskkey) in your coordinated task sequence and set taskkey to the crane loading task. This will hold other resources until the load is done. For example

stask = insertproxytask(cts, cranekey, TASKTYPE_LOAD, boxitem, transporter1key , 0, 0, 0, 0);
insertsynctask(cts,stask);
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Normand Côté For This Useful Post:
Shahin Gelareh (02-09-2012)
  #3  
Old 02-11-2012
Shahin Gelareh Shahin Gelareh is offline
Postdoctoral Researcher
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Polytech'Lille, France
Posts: 100
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 46
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Shahin Gelareh is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you indeed for your comment.
The issues is that not all this is going to be decided at the same place.

a processor tells the transporter to deliver this to certain network node or any other location and wait to be discharged.
Then the crane needs to find location where it want to put the box.

If processor decides for this, it happens that before the box arrives at crane the place is already occupied by the transporters who arrived before us.

So one way is to stop the transporters at the quay crane and then put some script for transporter to release/deallocate them.

what would be the best strategy here.

thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2012
Normand Côté Normand Côté is offline
SNC-Lavalin GTS
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 17
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 164
Normand Côté will become famous soon enough
Default

If the crane receives its own task sequence to travel to the transfer location and If you don't know who from the crane or the transporters will arrive first then you will need to stop each one once it arrives at the location. When both are there, just resume each one.

This may be the best strategy regarding flexibility and availability of resources because transporters and cranes are managed independantly until every one is ready for box transfer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to On or Off using transport in Flow tap? syseo Q&A 1 07-26-2011 01:47 AM
Transport issues FlorianK Q&A 3 05-24-2011 10:36 AM
Transport 2 once! john mic Q&A 5 05-20-2010 11:28 PM
How do you transport using two different methods Derrick Serbonich Q&A 1 02-25-2009 05:50 PM
flowiTems From transport to transport Manuel Kraenzle Q&A 1 10-27-2008 01:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.