ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2009
Markus Bans Markus Bans is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: D-41199 Moenchengladbach, Germany
Posts: 8
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked 15 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Markus Bans will become famous soon enough
Default Multiprocessor states and MTBF

Hello,

as you probably know, the multiprocessor doesn't use the state 'Processing', but names the processing state same as the individual process, so when one e.g. has 5 processes called 'Process1', 'Process2', ..., 'Process5', also the appropriate state is named 'Process1', 'Process2', ..., 'Process5'.

Concerning MTBF, I found then, that the list (States to choose from) for selecting the states applied to MTBF doesn't contain the states mentioned above.

I tried then to enter them in the tree: .../DownStateEdit/items and added 51: Process1, 52: Process2 etc. In ...SelectState/items, I added beginning at pos. 51 'Process1', at pos. 52 'Process2' etc.

Then I saved the model.

After reopening it, all had disappeared, so I couldn't choose the states 'Process1', 'Process2', ..., 'Process5' to be applied to MTBF.

So how can I add the multiprocessor states 'Process1', 'Process2', ..., 'Process5' ... to that list?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2009
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 516
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

I am not really sure what you did (because you did not describe, in which tree you added the nodes), but I would guess, that you added the nodes in the view tree in active view (which is gone after reopen the view).

Anyway, I had a look into the issue and I guess that this could be a point for the development list. Update the MTBF GUI for the MultiProcessor states.

I say 'could' because I would think it is hardly used (Special case where MTBF MTTR on a MultiProcessor only happens, if he is in process state. Another way to model this is not using a MultiProcessor but a number of Processor and taking care that only one item is in the Processors (control input)).
I also say 'could' because I found a way to solve this issue by manually add nodes in the tree of the MTBFMTTR and this seems to work.

The model where I solved it can be found in the download section Support Models and a description of what I did is there and also in the description in the Model Control GUI.

http://www.flexsim.com/community/for...do=file&id=204
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom David For This Useful Post:
Markus Bans (03-30-2009)
Reply

Tags
mtbf, multiprocessor, states

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Several MTBF/MTTR for 1 processor ? ankus d Q&A 15 01-18-2016 01:27 PM
Creating a stacked bar chart for the states of multiple objects Kris Geisberger Tips and Tricks 6 08-11-2011 09:40 PM
MTBF Question Gavin Douglas Q&A 4 07-02-2008 11:12 AM
Flow items with states AlanZhang Q&A 16 11-30-2007 10:32 AM
stopping the MultiProcessor Pablo Concha Q&A 4 10-31-2007 07:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.