ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > Flexsim CT > Container Terminal (CT) Library
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2009
John Kim's Avatar
John Kim John Kim is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 6
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
John Kim is on a distinguished road
Default Random generator for Yard Block Area and Transfer Area

I am trying to unstack (export) containers off a set of yardblocks onto a container ship. They are grouped via Area and have a Transfer Area as a means of a Gantry Crane, picking up a container off the yardblock then onto the trucks.

I set my Area as RandomStrat but it seems to be wanting to use only 1 TransferArea, instead of any open one. Do I need to use a different method to offload from the yardblock via the TransferArea?

Also, is there a way to use a second gantrycrane on the same yardblock so that Gantry#2 can re-sort the containers towards the opposite end of the yardblock?

Yours,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2009
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1172
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

John,

There is not much detail that I can offer without seeing the model directly.

One reason it may be doing what you describe could be that you are sorting your container loads by block. On the Miscellaneous tab of the Berth Planner, are you using the checkboxes in Sort Container Loads? If that doesn't fix the problem and you can't post the model, you might want to send it to Flexsim directly to ask for help.

As for using a second gantrycrane resorting the containers: the only way I can think of doing it is to code it up manually. Again, you may want to contact Flexsim directly about this question to get more specific help for what you are trying to do, rather than a general question on the community forum.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Phil BoBo For This Useful Post:
Scott Mackay (10-08-2009)
Reply

Tags
gantrycrane, transferarea, unstack

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Area/Volume Mapping Naresh Yamani Q&A 2 09-26-2012 05:37 AM
What's the inializing mechnism of yard block? zhang xin Container Terminal (CT) Library 6 11-27-2009 08:47 PM
Transfer Area John Kim Container Terminal (CT) Library 2 09-15-2009 10:20 AM
How control truck rout in the yard zone? zhang xin Container Terminal (CT) Library 2 08-31-2009 07:19 PM
More random random number Paul Dowling Q&A 6 06-01-2008 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.