ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2013
Ramesh Pinn Ramesh Pinn is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 16
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 88
Ramesh Pinn is on a distinguished road
Default Change origin from parent to global

Is there a function in FlexSim that allows me to change the origin of an object from its parent to model's origin?

For example, if I drag and drop a processor onto a visualtool, its x,y,z coordinates are based on origin being at visualtool's x,y,z. Is there a translation function allows changing this origin to the visualtool's origin (whic is 0,0,0 in the model)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2013
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

look at the vectorprojectx, y, z functions
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Steven Hamoen For This Useful Post:
Ramesh Pinn (12-18-2013)
  #3  
Old 12-18-2013
Ramesh Pinn Ramesh Pinn is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 16
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 88
Ramesh Pinn is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Steven. That worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change Global Variable Permanently Chris Moon Q&A 3 04-11-2011 07:46 PM
Parent and Child Objects Brandon Peterson User Development 9 01-19-2011 11:55 PM
Change name of the GUI Congshi Wang Q&A 1 11-08-2010 05:39 AM
Limit in the completion hints? Global Tables, Global Variables, etc.? Tom David Gripes and Goodies 6 09-09-2008 04:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.