ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2010
Elenor Arkesten Elenor Arkesten is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Elenor Arkesten is on a distinguished road
Default Tasksequence - Operator adds several different items to a combiner

Hi all,

I am a fairly new Flexsim user and I hope you all can help me with some of my problems to get a kick start!

In this example I need operators to combine several different items in to one product and then follow it through stages of processing.

Basically I want one operator to do the following:

- Pick up item1 from one queue and place it on the combiner
- Go to another queue and pick up another item and place it on the combiner etc. He will have to pick up different items and he is only able to carry one at a time.

- After he will combine the items in the combiner
- Load the combined item and bring it to the processer
- Work at the processer
- Pick up the processed item and bring it to the queue for finished goods.


I have tried some coding as seen in my simple example with two items to combine and 2 workstations.

First question, how do I name the different items in such a long sequence so the operator know what to load? I tried here with a global treenode variable but have not got it to work...

Best Regards
Elenor
Attached Files
File Type: zip Items_to_combiner.zip (33.3 KB, 189 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2010
Sebastian Hemmann's Avatar
Sebastian Hemmann Sebastian Hemmann is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Posts: 439
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 472
Thanked 217 Times in 154 Posts
Rep Power: 314
Sebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

sadly it isn´t possible for me to have a look into your model. I would try to solve your problems that way:
After building up the standard process and setting the maximum capacity of the operator to 1, I would do a run to see what the operator does with standard options.
If the operator doesn´t work exactly in the order you want him to do, try to open and close the outputport or inputport of the different queues or processors/combiner. This way the operator only would do the thinks it can, because it only gets this tasksequences.

Greetings
__________________
Hemmi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2010
Sebastian Hemmann's Avatar
Sebastian Hemmann Sebastian Hemmann is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Posts: 439
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 472
Thanked 217 Times in 154 Posts
Rep Power: 314
Sebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to behold
Default

Oh I forgot to say, if you really want to solve this with coding you should look in the download section for modells of Tom David. I remember he shared some modells with task_sequences and in this there even are solutions for unique names of Items ;-)
__________________
Hemmi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2010
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 325
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi Elenor,

Have you been able to solve your problem?

If not, I have done some changes in your model and get it to work like you want. But I need to know the version of your Flexsim, I did the model in 4.52.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2010
Elenor Arkesten Elenor Arkesten is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Elenor Arkesten is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Lars-Olof,

I have been looking at some models recommended by Sebastian (thank you Sebastian!) but have not yet been able to found a solution that could tackle my problem in an easy way.

Therefore I would very much appreciate if you could send me your solution!

I am sitting with a bit older version, version 4.01.

Thank you!

Best Regards
Elenor Arkesten
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2010
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 325
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

Can you upgrade your version to 4.52 or 5? I am attacheing the model I have buld but it is for version 4.52 (have not 4.01 installed).

If you can not upgrade I will try to explain what I have done.

First change your queue you use now to have Maximum content of 1 and then add 1 new queue between your source and queue Item 1, do the same between Source and queue Item 2.
In Item1 close the input port on reset, and open it OnMessage. Also add closeinput to OnEntry on Item1.

On Item2 in OnEntry I have added this line:
Code:
senddelayedmessage(centerobject(current,1),0.0001,current);
Back to Item1 and in the Request Transport From I have following code:
Code:
treenode ts = createemptytasksequence(centerobject(current,1),0,0);
treenode combiner = outobject(current,port);
treenode processor = outobject(outobject(current,port),1);
treenode FromWorkstations = outobject(outobject(outobject(current,port),1),1);
treenode Glaslager2 = inobject(outobject(current,port),2);

treenode item2=first(Glaslager2);

inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_TRAVEL,current,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRLOAD,item,current,port);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_TRAVEL,combiner,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRUNLOAD,item,combiner,opipno(current,port));
//Gets Item1 and place it on the combiner

inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_TRAVEL,Glaslager2,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRLOAD,item2,Glaslager2,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_TRAVEL,combiner,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRUNLOAD,item2,combiner,opipno(current,port));
//Gets Item2 and place it on the combiner


inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_UTILIZE,item,combiner,STATE_UTILIZE);
//Working by combiner

inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRLOAD,item,combiner,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_TRAVEL,processor,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRUNLOAD,item,processor,NULL);
//Taking the product from combiner to processor

inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_UTILIZE,item,processor,STATE_UTILIZE);
//Working by processor

inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRLOAD,item,processor,0);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_TRAVEL,FromWorkstations,NULL);
inserttask(ts,TASKTYPE_FRUNLOAD,item,FromWorkstations, NULL);
//Taking finished product to stock

dispatchtasksequence(ts);
Why I do not release an item to Item1 until an item is entering Item2 is to be sure that there is an item in Item2 when the Request Transporter From is triggered.

Hope this put you in right direction, if you need more let me know.

Lars-Olof
Attached Files
File Type: zip Items_to_combiner_LOL.zip (50.9 KB, 182 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lars-Olof Leven For This Useful Post:
Tom David (05-10-2010)
  #7  
Old 05-10-2010
Elenor Arkesten Elenor Arkesten is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Elenor Arkesten is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you Lars-Erik,

Looks like this will solve my problem! Unfortunatley I am working at a company where the 4.01 is standard so an update will be hard to do...

Still I can open your model and follow your steps to build my own solution where I will also need to add some more items to the combiner.

Tack igen!

Best Regards
Elenor Arkesten
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2010
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 325
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

It is Lars-Olof and not Lars-Erik.

Let me know if you need more explanation.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tasksequence

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a combiner process multi items simultaneously? KelvinHo Q&A 6 11-08-2010 11:29 AM
one question about tasksequence? LINWEIXU Q&A 12 08-12-2009 08:01 PM
one question about tasksequence priority? LINWEIXU Q&A 6 08-07-2009 09:15 PM
Operator not unloading items before picking up priority items Howe Chiat Cheng Q&A 2 05-28-2008 02:05 AM
Remove a tasksequence from a tasksequencequeue? AlanZhang Q&A 11 10-19-2007 03:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.