ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2012
Tim Splettstoesser Tim Splettstoesser is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lübbecke (Germany)
Posts: 6
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Tim Splettstoesser is on a distinguished road
Question Problem with the Decisionpoints on the BasicConveyor

Hey all,
I'm experimenting with the BasicConveyor and built a TurningStation.
At the first DesicionPoint on the BC the Item rotates 90 degrees about his own edge and moves to the last DesicionPoint, which is releasing the Item.
On Run of the attached Modell, the first Item does what i want, but the second item covers both DecisionPoints in the same time.
Does anybody know, why the second DesicionPoint doesn't work correct? What can I do to solve this problem?
Thanks
Tim
Attached Files
File Type: fsm BasicConveyor_Turning_Station_TSp.fsm (111.3 KB, 100 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2012
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 636
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Tim,

try something different. Use two basic conveyors. Each conveyor should contain only one decision point. The problem with conveyors is, that the furture events are created on entry. If you change the dimension or the rotation of items the conveyor won't change the already written events in the event list on its own. You must change them by yourself or you can use more conveyors to give flexsim the chance to calculate correct events on each following entry.

Joerg
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
Carsten Seehafer (11-05-2012), Tim Splettstoesser (11-05-2012)
  #3  
Old 11-05-2012
Carsten Seehafer's Avatar
Carsten Seehafer Carsten Seehafer is offline
FlexSim Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ritterhude, Deutschland
Posts: 230
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 474
Thanked 320 Times in 143 Posts
Rep Power: 373
Carsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud of
Default

You can also use animations with an item. I've changed the TaskExecuterFlowItem in FlowItem Bin. The animation starts in OnEntry of the conveyor.

Please have a look

Greetings

Carsten
Attached Files
File Type: fsm animation_example.fsm (90.1 KB, 84 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Carsten Seehafer For This Useful Post:
Jörg Vogel (11-05-2012), Tim Splettstoesser (11-05-2012)
  #4  
Old 11-05-2012
Tim Splettstoesser Tim Splettstoesser is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lübbecke (Germany)
Posts: 6
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Tim Splettstoesser is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks,
@ Jrg:
i think the solution with two conveyors is the best way to avoid the problem.

@ Carsten:
Your solution is very nice too, but i want to use the turningstation for items with different sizes. so every item needs its own specified animation.

best regards
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2012
Carsten Seehafer's Avatar
Carsten Seehafer Carsten Seehafer is offline
FlexSim Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ritterhude, Deutschland
Posts: 230
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 474
Thanked 320 Times in 143 Posts
Rep Power: 373
Carsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Splettstoesser View Post
... i want to use the turningstation for items with different sizes. so every item needs its own specified animation.
Each item has already his own animation. But you have to resize this animation (OnExit in Source in the new example). The animations are very powerful (thanks to the developers)



Nevertheless I think the solution of Joerg is the best for your problem.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm animation_example_2.fsm (90.0 KB, 79 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
basicconveyor, decisionpoint

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BasicConveyor Tim Splettstoesser Q&A 2 09-21-2012 03:55 AM
a problem with basicconveyor oliver xie Q&A 3 09-12-2011 08:23 AM
the BasicConveyor problem LINWEIXU Q&A 3 06-10-2011 04:51 PM
conveyendtrigger on BasicConveyor Stephan Seidel Q&A 1 05-02-2011 09:27 AM
BasicConveyor stops too late? Steven Hamoen Q&A 3 04-20-2010 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.