ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2009
LINWEIXU
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
Default how to make the forklift grab a pallet from the upper levels of the rack and place it in the first or second l

someone ask me this question
“What I would like to know is how to make the forklift grab a pallet from the upper levels of the rack and place it in the first or second level.”
i made a model,i write code in userevent,and repeat every o.1,more deail see attach.

is there a simple method?
Attached Files
File Type: zip rack.zip (39.2 KB, 202 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2009
Rachid Kolfin Rachid Kolfin is offline
Simulation Consultant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 21
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 58
Thanked 37 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 163
Rachid Kolfin will become famous soon enoughRachid Kolfin will become famous soon enough
Default how to make the forklift grab a pallet from the upper levels of the rack and place it in the first or secon

Linweixu,

I do not quite understand why you would want to do this based on the time (user event). In any case you will have to make a task sequence such as the one you have made. But maybe you can use the Minimum Dwell time on the rack. In this case you avoid having to go over the entire content of the rack each time searching for items that have to be ""brought down". On this trigger you already have a pointer to the corresponding item. So when this time expires you can change the label on the item and make the task sequence.

Good luck,

Rachid Kolfin
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rachid Kolfin For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 09-03-2009
RalfGruber's Avatar
RalfGruber RalfGruber is offline
FlexSim Software Products
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orem, UT, USA
Posts: 195
Downloads: 37
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 518
Thanked 294 Times in 124 Posts
Rep Power: 339
RalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to behold
Default

LINWEIXU,

why do you do that checking time based? In general, you will always have some control logic for a rack, e.g. a WMS (Warehouse Management System).
If this receives an order, it has to create the tasksequence you put into the user event. You need to model that logic in Flexsim too, not only the "hardware" meaning the rack.

Good luck

ralle
aka
Ralf

BTW: "1234.fsm" is not a pretty good name for a model if you still want to know tomorrow what the model was about

Last edited by RalfGruber; 09-03-2009 at 07:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2009
Anthony Timmiss Anthony Timmiss is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sunderland - UK
Posts: 78
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 65
Thanked 45 Times in 28 Posts
Rep Power: 181
Anthony Timmiss will become famous soon enoughAnthony Timmiss will become famous soon enough
Default

This example creates a task sequence when the part enters the rack.

I'd agree with the others that you really want something else creating the task sequence for the part.

Anthony
Attached Files
File Type: zip Rack2Rack.zip (38.2 KB, 215 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Anthony Timmiss For This Useful Post:
Brandon Peterson (09-03-2009), Martijn van Oostenbrugge (09-03-2009)
  #5  
Old 09-03-2009
Brandon Peterson's Avatar
Brandon Peterson Brandon Peterson is offline
The Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 382
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6
Thanks: 192
Thanked 516 Times in 235 Posts
Rep Power: 484
Brandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant future
Default

Linewixu,

Do you always have to move the items from the top rack to one of the lower two levels? If you do then I would suggest using two different racks with one on top of the other. If you did it this way then you would not have to write any special code at all.

Good Luck,
Brandon
__________________
thats not normal.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brandon Peterson For This Useful Post:
RalfGruber (09-03-2009)
  #6  
Old 09-04-2009
LINWEIXU
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
Default

Brandon Peterson thank you good ideal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to make a Rotary Rack? qin tian Q&A 14 09-04-2009 01:32 AM
Can we place object in different layers? zhang xin Q&A 3 02-09-2009 12:53 AM
Set maxcontent of Forklift Anthony Timmiss Q&A 3 02-04-2009 02:54 AM
Box Picking from a pallet in a rack Michael Hartlieb Q&A 9 12-11-2008 10:12 AM
Forklift with custom fork 3D object. Anthony Johnson Tips and Tricks 0 07-09-2008 12:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.