ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2009
zhang xin zhang xin is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: China
Posts: 136
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 81
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 144
zhang xin is on a distinguished road
Default Can we place object in different layers?

Hi, when I design model, I want all objects be showed.

When I run model, I want some objects be hided because they are logical objects.

Now, I use show 3D checkbox to toggle. But I think if we can place objects in different layers, it will be more convenient.

My suggestion is:
Every objects have an attribute "layer", which can be 1,2,3,....

Then, there are buttons in toolbar, say "show layer1","show layer2",...,"show all layer".

Thus, we can control show/hide more conveniently.


Last edited by zhang xin; 02-09-2009 at 02:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2009
Kenny Macleod's Avatar
Kenny Macleod Kenny Macleod is offline
Flexsim Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 136
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 86
Thanked 38 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 170
Kenny Macleod will become famous soon enoughKenny Macleod will become famous soon enough
Default nice...

I like that idea - is it in the functionality request list?

Kenny
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2009
Lolke Koopmans's Avatar
Lolke Koopmans Lolke Koopmans is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 42
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 24
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 157
Lolke Koopmans is on a distinguished road
Default

You can very easily create layers by placing objects in a container. Actually this can be any object, but the visual tool works great for this. You then can switch the content on or off. And you can even make your own menu for this.

regards,
Lolke
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2009
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 514
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

Guys,

I agree with Lolke and also normally use a Visual Tool as Container.

An alternative way could be not using a container, but make different groups of objects (Modeling Utilities - Groups). Select (red) a group of objects and Add Group. Now you have easy access to the group. Use the Edit Selected Objects (Modeling Utilties - Edit Selected Objects - Switches) and Toggle 3D Shapes.

Sometimes I am really surprised about the existing functionality in Flexsim. :-)

__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom David For This Useful Post:
Phil BoBo (02-09-2009)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.