ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009
Paul Dowling Paul Dowling is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 42
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 155
Paul Dowling is on a distinguished road
Default Trouble with mergesort...

Hi All,

I am having trouble with the mergesort and was hopeing someone might be able to help me. I have attached a picture that shows what happens, basically a little loop of totes form around one end of the mergesort (half the loop on conveyor, the other half on air). When this error occurs, totes stop entering and exiting the mergesort at all locations.

I imagine that i have some bug in my coding somewhere, but cannot find anything (the bug only occurs intermittently). Does know what sort of error can cause this? Any tips would be greatly appreciated, this is part of a very big project that needs to be done ASAP.

Thanks

Paul

EIDT: Should also mention it appears to freeze the entire model- The only think moving is totes moving around the sorter, along with this little loop circling.

Note: The beginning/end of the mergesort is in the bottom left hand corner.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Screenshot.pdf (156.0 KB, 337 views)

Last edited by Paul Dowling; 02-05-2009 at 04:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2009
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hi Paul, were you able to solve this, or were you able to reproduce it in a smaller model that you could post here? I'm guessing since there's no replies that no-one has come across this.

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2009
Paul Dowling Paul Dowling is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 42
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 155
Paul Dowling is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Jason,
Thanks for getting back to me. I haven't been able to solve it, but have managed to get it to work on enough scenarios to get by for now (just kept trying reset- compile- run until successful...). Will try to reproduce it in a smaller model in next few days and post.

Regards
Paul

Note: Additionally, problem occurs in both 4.02 and 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2009
Paul Dowling Paul Dowling is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 42
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 155
Paul Dowling is on a distinguished road
Default

I cannot post the model (or a significant part thereof) on the forum due to a customer confidentiality agreement. If someone from flexsim is willing to take a look I would be very appreciative and could email the model (I understand you yourselves have confidentiality policies regarding such things).

Thanks

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2009
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1169
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you want Flexsim guys to look at it, you should send it to Flexsim support.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2009
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 729
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Paul,
Check to make sure that you're not transporting into the mergesort. You should never transport into the mergesort because availability of input points is time-sensitive, so the mergesort isn't designed to handle a delay for transport. Parts going into the mergesort should come directly from fixedresources, and should not use elevators, operators, transporters etc. If you want to use a transport, transport into a conveyor that then feeds the mergesort.
Hope this helps,
Good Luck,
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Anthony Johnson For This Useful Post:
Brandon Peterson (10-01-2009), Efrain Marchena (07-27-2012)
  #7  
Old 02-23-2009
Paul Dowling Paul Dowling is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 42
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 155
Paul Dowling is on a distinguished road
Default

Jeff kindly found a solution to my problem, I was trying to open/ close ports using the onentry and onexit triggers of the sorter...

Thanks

Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not overlapping when MergeSort Conveyor... syseo Q&A 0 10-26-2008 07:24 AM
MergeSort Spacing Rule For Recirculation Sung Kim Q&A 2 01-21-2008 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.