ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2011
FlorianK's Avatar
FlorianK FlorianK is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erfurt, Germany
Posts: 27
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 109
FlorianK is on a distinguished road
Question Exel Import - Digits after decimal point

Hello Community,

I want to import some percantages fro an Excel-Tabel but unfortunatly just the pre decimal digits are imported. E.g. Cells with 0.5 are imported as 0.

Is it again trouble with the Ecxel-Setting? How can I solve the problem?

Thank you very much in advance!

Greetings from Germany
FlorianK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2011
Carsten Seehafer's Avatar
Carsten Seehafer Carsten Seehafer is offline
FlexSim Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ritterhude, Deutschland
Posts: 230
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 474
Thanked 320 Times in 143 Posts
Rep Power: 373
Carsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud of
Default

Hello Florian,

are you sure it's not like 0,5 in your table in Excel? The "," in Excel can cause problems like yours.

I never had problems with numbers like 0.5


Greetings

Carsten
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2011
FlorianK's Avatar
FlorianK FlorianK is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erfurt, Germany
Posts: 27
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 109
FlorianK is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Carsten,

i had similar issues with "," and "." some weeks ago, thats is why i changed my excel settings and looked for it especially.

It is a bit nasty because the acummulated percentages are not reaching the 100% at the end, so i have to "adjust" them a bit manual which causes a little loss of accuracy.

Greetings,
FlorianK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2011
FlorianK's Avatar
FlorianK FlorianK is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erfurt, Germany
Posts: 27
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 109
FlorianK is on a distinguished road
Default

Hello,

i just noticed that the problem also involves things like tact times. I think you can imagine that one and a half hour is not the same like one hour

Do you have further suggestions for me?

I'm using Windows XP and Excel 2010. As I said, I allready changed the decimal sign to "."

Thank you!

Greetings,
FlorianK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2011
FlorianK's Avatar
FlorianK FlorianK is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erfurt, Germany
Posts: 27
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 109
FlorianK is on a distinguished road
Default

Hello,

i was able to fix it a little bit. By toggeling the option "Data Distiction" to "Numeric" (you can find it at the Ecxel Import GUI / Edit), the most numbers are imported well now. Just a few, like 9.249, are imported as 9249.

I don't know what it is...

Greetings,
FlorianK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2011
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlorianK View Post
Hello,

i Just a few, like 9.249, are imported as 9249.
That sounds like a problem with the thousand seperator - which is a region/languge setting I think.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
FlorianK (05-16-2011)
  #7  
Old 04-27-2012
Kurt De Cock Kurt De Cock is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gent, BE
Posts: 4
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Kurt De Cock is on a distinguished road
Default Use csv import for that

I always run in the same issue when using excel files. I never managed to import digits neither after the decimal point or decimal comma. I figured out that the csv import is a better option to import decimal fractions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2012
Kurt De Cock Kurt De Cock is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gent, BE
Posts: 4
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Kurt De Cock is on a distinguished road
Default Set system regional settings

I finally can import directly from Excel instead of using csv files. Make sure the decimal symbol and the digit grouping symbol in the control panel settings of Windows are the same then the ones used in the Excel workbook.

Setting the option 'use system separators' in Excel will not work. Flexsim uses the system settings as separators so if they match the ones in the workbook, everything will be correctly imported.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kurt De Cock For This Useful Post:
Phil BoBo (09-25-2012)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excel Data Import Sung Kim Q&A 2 07-16-2010 10:41 AM
how to import excel in source? qin tian Q&A 6 01-11-2010 10:58 PM
Decimal Point Number Precision Michael Hartlieb Q&A 1 08-05-2009 08:53 AM
3D Shape Import Problems jspeece Q&A 2 07-30-2009 03:47 AM
Problems with Excel-Import tobias.biemueller Q&A 1 06-18-2008 06:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.