ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2010
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Flexsim doesn't show Sketchup textures

Hi,

I have this sketchup model from a client that shows up nicely in sketchup freeversion nr 8 and also in earlier versions. But if I import it in Flexsim the textures are not shown.

Does anybody have an idea?

I attached the model and 2 pictures with and without textures.

Steven
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Caster.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	1198   Click image for larger version

Name:	CastMachine.jpg
Views:	285
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	1199  
Attached Files
File Type: zip CastMachine.zip (308.5 KB, 228 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2010
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Just in case a .3DS helps - the texture is no longer missing...
Attached Files
File Type: zip CastMachine.zip (265.8 KB, 223 views)

Last edited by Jason Lightfoot; 12-01-2010 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2010
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Jason,

Thanks, how did you convert the skp file to .3ds?
And did you notice that the file is much darker, any idea's about that?

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2010
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I used the NuGraf version of PolyTrans which I think has recently been updated for Sketchup 8. Not sure about the darkness - maybe there are some export options I should look at.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2010
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Ok, thanks a lot Jason for the trouble of converting!.

But the problem was not only this particular file but more the general problem. So if somebody has an idea or can give me suggestion I keep being interested.

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2010
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Okay Steven, if you right click the surface in Sketchup (I used v7) and choose entity info, and then make the left face texture (front face I think) the same as the one on the right (back face) you get a much better outcome. I've not tried the same thing in 8 yet.
Attached Files
File Type: zip CastMachine2.zip (274.9 KB, 223 views)

Last edited by Jason Lightfoot; 12-01-2010 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
Phil BoBo (12-01-2010), Steven Hamoen (12-01-2010)
Reply

Tags
not showing, sketchup, textures

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sketchup color mbaccalaro Q&A 7 04-11-2011 03:54 PM
Sketchup Pro Export Settings Joshua Cole Q&A 7 03-15-2011 10:08 AM
Does Flexsim support Google SketchUp ? qin tian Q&A 10 02-05-2011 12:04 PM
Show Who is Sharing a License Bennett Foster Gripes and Goodies 1 07-14-2010 02:37 PM
2 Recorders show the same Sebastian Hemmann Q&A 2 02-18-2010 05:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.