ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2015
Hassan Elhajj
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Post Using sources and distributions

Dear All Hi, Glad to be in FlexSim Forums
I am new to the group, and doing my Bachelors Degree as an industrial engineer
Yesterday while building the model I faced the Message saying:

Model limit was reached

There Currently exists a model limit.

Model size must stay below this limit.

and for my project to graduate still i have double the size of this project " and it is for academic purposes" what shall i do?


2nd Question?
while building a packaging line i am getting the packaging machine process time, but for raw materials as a source i have the consumption in tons/hr how shall i put as a Normal Distribution, Exponential, or Constant or what ?? please help me in this because I have many raw materials flowing in the model and i don't know which distribution i have to use??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2015
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 636
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Hassan,

welcome to the forum.
I answer your 2nd question first. You have an continuous input in a discrete simulation. Therefore you can use the fluid object library. After you have transformed the continuous flow into discrete pieces you can use a combiner.
Your first question belongs to the license you have got. If you see at start of Flexsim that it is the express license please contact your Flexsim distributor or your administrator how to install or receive an educational, standard or any other suitable license.

Jörg
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
Hassan Elhajj (02-19-2015)
  #3  
Old 02-19-2015
Hassan Elhajj
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

but the issue it is not fluids, it is taps and caps
so i don't think i have to use the fluids and then change it into Discrete, I agree with you about the combiners which I did, But my concern was about what distribution shall I use or shall I keep it as a constant number ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2015
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 636
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Hassan,

I misunderstood your question. One approach is to use a constant input frequence. Another is you insert a queue with the capacity of one which pulls from a source. The queue is connected with your combiner. If you want to define or set a maximum release of your caps in an hour, you close the output of the queue when you reach the limit. And you open the output when the next period begins.
If you have a constant output of caps in an hour you can change the arrival style to arrival schedule and define two times when products should enter the model. In the schedule table you can set the amount of items, which are created at the times. Activate the Repeat Schedule/Sequence, then.

Jörg
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
Hassan Elhajj (02-19-2015)
Reply

Tags
distribution, model, units

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FlexSim Basics: Statistical Distributions Markus Cueva FlexSim Media 0 04-07-2014 09:55 AM
combining same temtypes from two sources Radhakrishnan R Q&A 5 08-03-2012 11:59 AM
First Interval Distributions Jason Lightfoot Tips and Tricks 0 08-01-2010 07:07 PM
Distributions in Flexsim michaelsmith Q&A 1 06-16-2010 06:44 AM
Explanation of empirical, cempirical and dempirical distributions Cliff King Q&A 0 01-04-2008 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.