ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2012
naren nataraj naren nataraj is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: INDIA
Posts: 28
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 102
naren nataraj is on a distinguished road
Default Modify process time based on number of operators

Hi,

I have a situation where a processor needs (at max) 2 operators to work on it. The process time changes with the number of operators working.

If 1 operator works, there is some process time for the processor. When the 2nd operator comes, whatever processing time is left on the processor at that instant, that needs to be halved.

Ex. Processor processing time = 50 min (for 1 operator)
Op. 2 comes after 10 min.
Time left = 40 min.
New process time required = 40/2 = 20 min.

Need some help on the above.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2012
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

There are different approaches to doing this. One of them (experimental) is here.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
naren nataraj (02-23-2012)
  #3  
Old 02-23-2012
Martijn van Oostenbrugge's Avatar
Martijn van Oostenbrugge Martijn van Oostenbrugge is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 71
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 44
Thanked 44 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 262
Martijn van Oostenbrugge is a name known to allMartijn van Oostenbrugge is a name known to allMartijn van Oostenbrugge is a name known to allMartijn van Oostenbrugge is a name known to allMartijn van Oostenbrugge is a name known to allMartijn van Oostenbrugge is a name known to all
Default

I used a different approach once. On the OnResourceAvailable of the second operator I checked if another process needed an operator (had several Processors). On each Processor kept the EndProcesTime in a label. Created a task sequence (travel, message, utilize) for the operator. On the message I destroyed the event on the Processor and created a new one based on the new (remaining) process time. You have to be sure then that the second operator gets in time to the processor otherwise it would be no use calling for the operator.

Martijn
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Martijn van Oostenbrugge For This Useful Post:
naren nataraj (02-23-2012)
  #4  
Old 02-23-2012
naren nataraj naren nataraj is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: INDIA
Posts: 28
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 102
naren nataraj is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi,

"On the message I destroyed the event on the Processor and created a new one based on the new (remaining) process time."

How do you get at what time the operator is coming to the new processor?

Thanks Jason. Can you provide some explanation or some simpler model on the same. Basically, I just need the time when the 2nd operator is coming to help the first one. If I get that, I can reduce the time as per my requirements.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2012
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 767
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Look at the processor label called "processdurations" as a 'Label Table'. In the right column enter the duration the process would take if that number of operators was available from the start of, and throughout the process. If the maximum number of operators you can have is two, just resize the table to 2 rows. That's it! The time adjustment is calculated and applied automatically.

Last edited by Jason Lightfoot; 02-23-2012 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
operator, time

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set different operation time based on operator type Brandon Zhao Q&A 6 02-20-2012 09:42 AM
Frame Animation based on Time Shanon Loughton Q&A 4 04-06-2009 09:57 AM
Using a Variable number of Operators for Processing Brandon Peterson Tips and Tricks 4 07-16-2008 09:16 AM
operators working together to decrease process time Alex Christensen Tips and Tricks 4 07-14-2008 09:22 AM
Setting the number of operators Sung Kim Q&A 4 02-05-2008 12:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.