ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2010
KelvinHo KelvinHo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 129
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 167
KelvinHo will become famous soon enough
Default A jeep pull a chain of dolley

Hi all,

I would like to make a transportator as a jeep, and the jeep would pull a chain of dolleys, the dolleys will hold flow items and move follow the jeep like a carriage of a train.
I read the Rail API post but I don need such complex predefined routing ...etc.

Is there a simple method to make such a transportor?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2010
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 516
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

There is a model called Sample_MilkrunKanbanSystem_TD, which might go in the direction you are looking for. I am not sure if it is helpful, but please have a look. Please tell us, what you think.
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom David For This Useful Post:
KelvinHo (06-01-2010)
  #3  
Old 06-01-2010
KelvinHo KelvinHo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 129
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 167
KelvinHo will become famous soon enough
Default

Hi, I tried the file you recommended but seems not perfectly match.
My case would be like the pic attached.

When the 1st part of the chain turn round, the 2nd part would only turn round at the same location of where 1st part start its turning (i.e. 2nd part would not start turning until the pt 1st turned before..)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	999  
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2010
Nico Zahn's Avatar
Nico Zahn Nico Zahn is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bingen am Rhein, Germany
Posts: 179
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 66
Thanked 60 Times in 32 Posts
Rep Power: 196
Nico Zahn has a spectacular aura aboutNico Zahn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Hi Kelvin,
I could think of 3 way to solve this:

1. Use a conveyor instead of a network
2. see file attached (it is V 4.3) On Continue in the NN the positions of the objects are set. If you use a lot of network nodes The movement gets smooth.
3. Use a traveltask for each part of the chain. The timing of the tasks is important. So they should start one after each other.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ZugMitWagenUmDieEcke09.zip (60.5 KB, 169 views)
__________________
kind regards Nico.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nico Zahn For This Useful Post:
KelvinHo (06-01-2010), Tom David (06-01-2010)
  #5  
Old 06-01-2010
KelvinHo KelvinHo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 129
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 167
KelvinHo will become famous soon enough
Default

Get your idea and I changed a little bit that if each element change its location with its previous item in the chain would work. However it would be very troublesome and have must have a predefined routing.

If a transportator can get action from its previous item (copy his location after a time)...it would be perfect
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Further Pull Rules! Alan Pope Q&A 1 04-15-2010 09:30 AM
Pull rule Alan Pope Q&A 4 04-15-2010 07:46 AM
Supply Chain or Logistics Model Gavin Douglas Q&A 2 06-28-2009 09:54 AM
Supply Chain model mallik Q&A 2 01-07-2008 07:12 AM
Pull Logic Dillema William Proctor Q&A 2 09-14-2007 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.