ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2009
jspeece jspeece is offline
Jill Speece
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 11
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 127
jspeece is on a distinguished road
Default Animate using flow nodes?

Is it possible to center flow nodes in an object? I imported a 3D shape for a queue but I would like to simulate the flow of product through the shape and I am not sure how. I have been experimenting with flow nodes which kinda works but I am not able to center the flow nodes entry and exit in the right spots (see picture). Is this a good way to simulate motion or is there a better way?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	M Bridge.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	172.8 KB
ID:	761  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2009
Brandon Peterson's Avatar
Brandon Peterson Brandon Peterson is offline
The Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 382
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6
Thanks: 192
Thanked 516 Times in 235 Posts
Rep Power: 486
Brandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant future
Default

???,

Please fill out the about me section of your profile. It helps the forum function a little better when we know who we're helping and who is helping us. also, what is your name?

If you want to animate items through an object there are two ways that I have done this in the past. The first is to use kinematics and the second is to use standard objects.

The problem with kinematics is that it is code intensive and somewhat hard to grasp if you have never done it before. The plus side is that it allows for great control and it doesn't rely on extra objects. If you are new I would not recommend this.

If you want to continue to use standard objects then I would recommend using a conveyor instead of the flow nodes. The conveyor is easier to control than the flow nodes and shouldn't give you the problem with the offsets. You can hide the shape of the conveyor by unchecking the Show 3D shape box in the General tab of the conveyor's GUI and you can zero the z height of your objects by setting the z location of the conveyor to -1 or by setting the z offset to -1.

Good Luck,
Brandon
__________________
thats not normal.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brandon Peterson For This Useful Post:
jspeece (08-25-2009)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sorting a list of nodes in the tree Ben Wilson Tips and Tricks 3 02-27-2013 07:10 AM
Connecting network nodes in different containers KelvinHo Q&A 1 05-28-2008 06:49 AM
Setting the side offset for all nodes in the model Brandon Peterson Tips and Tricks 0 04-28-2008 11:15 AM
Accessing Data of a Recorder and Referencing Nodes in the Tree Jan Brandau Q&A 5 04-22-2008 07:05 AM
Find all nodes toggled as C++ Brandon Peterson Tips and Tricks 0 04-18-2008 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.