ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2008
mallik mallik is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 146
mallik is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Road traffic

Hai,

I want to simulate road traffic.
What is the option available to stop the flow items for a cetain time and release them.

Say, I want to stop all the flow items at the edge of the conveyor for 20sec and open the output port for 10sec.

I don't know why, the msg sending opion is not working on my system.

Can I get suggestions please?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2008
AlanZhang's Avatar
AlanZhang AlanZhang is offline
Flexsim Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 289
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 88
Thanked 91 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 221
AlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the rough
Default

I used network nodes instead of conveyors to simulate road traffic. The problem that I have will require different speeds for that vehicles on the road, which cannot be achieved by using conveyor.

I do not quite understand what you want do here. But I made a simple model to close the output port of conveyor for 20 sec when a flow item reaches the edge and open it for 10sec. Then close it again when another item reaches the edge. The code is under Conveyor's OnMessage and OnConveyEnd trigger.

Please see the attached model for details.
Attached Files
File Type: zip conveyor_close_open_az.zip (41.7 KB, 398 views)
__________________
Best,
Alan
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlanZhang For This Useful Post:
Brandon Peterson (09-25-2009)
  #3  
Old 02-03-2008
mallik mallik is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 146
mallik is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you Mr. AlanZhang,

Unfortunately I could not see your model since I have Flexsim 3 only with me.

Any how I could do the traffic model using 'send delayed msg' and 'onmsg' triggers.

Thank you.

Regards,
Mallik.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2009
Fernando Igor Fernando Igor is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Fernando Igor is on a distinguished road
Default

hi there!
I opened a new thread before, related to this same subject. I hope you can help me. How can I use network nodes to simulate a traffic road? do I also have to use a TrafficControl object?

Here is the post: http://www.flexsim.com/community/for...quote=1&p=4995

Last edited by Brandon Peterson; 09-25-2009 at 01:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fernando Igor For This Useful Post:
Ilivid zheng (12-25-2010)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.