ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Gripes and Goodies
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Gripes and Goodies Software problems and suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2015
Paul Wiedeking
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Decelartion of TE on network

Hi everybody

currently, I build a very simple model consisting of a TE (elevator)
traveling on a two node network up and down. The elevator picks up
a flowitem at the ground level and drops it in the upper level. I specified
the acceleration and deceleration property of the elevator but only the
acceleration has a visible effect on its speed. The elevator arrives with full
speed at the levels and stops immediatly without decelerating. Why?

Does it need manual adaption of the tasksequences to use decelartion?

A attached my example model (FlexSim 7.5).

Thanks in advance
Paul
Attached Files
File Type: fsm deceleration.fsm (16.5 KB, 500 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2015
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 639
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Paul,

as I understand the deceleration parameter is used when an Taskexecuter travels on a network and the edge he travels on has got a speed limit smaller then his current speed. A deceleration you see too when the taskexecuter is in Offset traveling.
Jörg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2015
Paul Wiedeking
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Joerg

thanks for your reply.
Ok, obviously I had a wrong imagination of how the decelaration property
is applied. Nevertheless, I want my elevator to decelerate when arriving at
its destination network node. Currently, I can only think of some sophisticated
manual calculations of the point where the elevator has to start decelerating and
insert a new network node right at this point and decreas all speedlimits between
the newly inserted node and the destination node accordingly...

But this approach seems too complicated to me.
Any suggestions how to solve this problem more elegantly?

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2015
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 681
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Have you looked at Kinematics? That gives you precise control over what ever movement you need.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2015
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 770
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Correct acceleration/deceleration is the elevator's default behavior without network nodes.

It would be nice if disabling offset travel on networks also gave the correct speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2015
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 770
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you use traveltoloc, you'd be forcing offset travel for the whole movement, which will use the acceleration/deceleration. Example of that attached creates ts on the source reads the network node locations, and assumes the you're dispatching directly to the elevator.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm deceleration_jl.fsm (16.8 KB, 513 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (04-29-2015), Jörg Vogel (04-29-2015), Paul Wiedeking (04-29-2015), Sebastian Hemmann (04-29-2015), Tom David (05-07-2015)
  #7  
Old 04-29-2015
Paul Wiedeking
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Jason

thank you very much for your solution.
Works perfectly and solves my problem.

Maybe deceleration for non-offset travel is a feature for
future releases?

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2015
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1171
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

The default task sequence uses the task executer's max speed as the end speed for the 2 travel tasks in the task sequence.

If you use the "Task Sequence Example_1" pick option in the Use Transport field and change var1 on the travel tasks to -1, then it will use zero as the end speed of the travel task and will decelerate to 0 at the end of the travel task.

Attached is your model modified accordingly.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tasktype_travel_var1_endspeed.png
Views:	787
Size:	274.5 KB
ID:	2842  
Attached Files
File Type: fsm deceleration.fsm (16.8 KB, 446 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Phil BoBo For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (04-29-2015), Ben Wilson (04-30-2015), Carsten Seehafer (05-05-2015), Jason Lightfoot (04-30-2015), Jörg Vogel (04-29-2015), Paul Wiedeking (04-29-2015), RalfGruber (04-29-2015), Tom David (05-07-2015)
  #9  
Old 04-29-2015
Paul Wiedeking
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Phil

that's exactly what I was looking for.
Thank you very much for your hint.

Cheers
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
elevator deceleration

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expertfit cannot find network key - Flexsim Network License Kris Geisberger Q&A 0 02-05-2008 05:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.