ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2013
michaelsmith michaelsmith is offline
TMN Simulation -Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Posts: 62
Downloads: 7
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 31
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 166
michaelsmith will become famous soon enough
Default Network Spacing & Queueing TE's

I'm trying to see if there is an elegant/simple solution to a problem we have encountered with TE's on a network. The spacing values are set and each TE has a different speed on the network. When TE's queue behind the slowest they all move together, when the slow TE crosses a NN to a new section the spacing rule stops being in effect (as it is defined for the path not the whole network?) and the TE's behind accelerate into the space then stop at the NN till the gap comes back. Overall it's more of a visual issue than a results one but has anyone come across this and solved it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2013
Sebastian Hemmann's Avatar
Sebastian Hemmann Sebastian Hemmann is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Posts: 439
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 472
Thanked 217 Times in 154 Posts
Rep Power: 315
Sebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

to build what you are looking for I nomaly only create another NN in front of the NN where your slowest TE stops and use Traffic Control. This works very fine if you only have 2 TE in line. It also could be a solution for 3 TE. But if you want more, effort will rise and you will have to find another solution.
__________________
Hemmi
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sebastian Hemmann For This Useful Post:
Jörg Vogel (08-01-2013), michaelsmith (08-05-2013)
  #3  
Old 08-04-2013
michaelsmith michaelsmith is offline
TMN Simulation -Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Posts: 62
Downloads: 7
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 31
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 166
michaelsmith will become famous soon enough
Default

Thanks for that, it would be a good solution for a smaller number of TE's but just get too much for some of the numbers involved.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2013
Sebastian Hemmann's Avatar
Sebastian Hemmann Sebastian Hemmann is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Posts: 439
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 472
Thanked 217 Times in 154 Posts
Rep Power: 315
Sebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to behold
Default

How many TE´s are involved in your model?
__________________
Hemmi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2013
andrecorreia andrecorreia is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane City
Posts: 12
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 85
andrecorreia is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian Hemmann View Post
How many TE´s are involved in your model?
Hi Sebastian,

Mike is trying to help me with this issue.

It's around 20 TE's (which are trucks in a open pit mine). The problem becomes very noticeable when there is a Grader travelling at 5km/h and all trucks around it at 50km/h on non-passing road segments.

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrecorreia For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (10-16-2013)
  #6  
Old 08-08-2013
Sebastian Hemmann's Avatar
Sebastian Hemmann Sebastian Hemmann is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Posts: 439
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 472
Thanked 217 Times in 154 Posts
Rep Power: 315
Sebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

can you share a small example model please. I think the answer would be to adjust the Network.
My first solution would be to find out where TE´s are allowed to pass the slower truck. And with this information I would build a Network that only at this points got Networknodes.
Now you only Need a logic for priority in traffic.

greetings
__________________
Hemmi
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sebastian Hemmann For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (10-16-2013)
  #7  
Old 08-08-2013
andrecorreia andrecorreia is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane City
Posts: 12
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 85
andrecorreia is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Sebastian,

Actually, TE's would never be allowed to overtake other TE's. If there is a slower TE at the beginning of the line, all TE's behind it would have to stay there and follow the slower TE at its speed.

Attached is a simple model demonstrating the problem. Notice that after the slow operator has passed through the first node, the operators behind it, that are faster, speed up, and stop at the node waiting for the space between them to be the segment spacing.

I just wanted the fast operators to follow the slow one, at a constant slow speed.

Thanks for your help.

Andre.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm Spacing_Speed_Test.fsm (88.4 KB, 85 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrecorreia For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (10-16-2013)
  #8  
Old 08-08-2013
Sebastian Hemmann's Avatar
Sebastian Hemmann Sebastian Hemmann is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Posts: 439
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 472
Thanked 217 Times in 154 Posts
Rep Power: 315
Sebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to beholdSebastian Hemmann is a splendid one to behold
Default

Ok, thanks for the model. So my idea was to proof if your realy Need NN2 - NN5. In the models I´ve build I only needed NN´s for using their Triggers to start any logic.
So i would try to reduce number of used NN´s to the Points, where TE really has to stop an build there the solution with Traffic control.

So as you can see TE´s stop in line.
Now it Looks as if you also have to build some own Tasksequences to make all TE´s unload their items.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm Spacing_Speed_Test-SH.fsm (88.6 KB, 76 views)
__________________
Hemmi
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Sebastian Hemmann For This Useful Post:
andrecorreia (08-12-2013), arunkrmahadeva (10-16-2013), Jörg Vogel (08-09-2013)
  #9  
Old 08-09-2013
Esther Bennett Esther Bennett is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 115
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 103
Thanked 116 Times in 50 Posts
Rep Power: 267
Esther Bennett is a name known to allEsther Bennett is a name known to allEsther Bennett is a name known to allEsther Bennett is a name known to allEsther Bennett is a name known to allEsther Bennett is a name known to all
Default

Hello Andre,

I have made an example for you how to change the speed limit of an edge on arrival of a traveler. (at NN2).

This will change the speed permanently though and only for one node.

You would have to set the speed limit back to a default value OnReset and maybe during the model run, but I hope this helps you in the right direction.

Esther
Attached Files
File Type: fsm Spacing_Speed_Test_EB.fsm (105.4 KB, 364 views)

Last edited by Esther Bennett; 12-08-2014 at 05:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Esther Bennett For This Useful Post:
andrecorreia (08-12-2013), arunkrmahadeva (10-16-2013), Carsten Seehafer (08-11-2013), Jörg Vogel (08-09-2013), Kris Geisberger (08-09-2013), Sebastian Hemmann (08-09-2013), syseo (08-09-2013)
  #10  
Old 08-09-2013
Kris Geisberger Kris Geisberger is offline
Flexsim Canada, Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 209
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 99
Thanked 389 Times in 133 Posts
Rep Power: 447
Kris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud of
Default

I like Esther's concept. If you only care about the travelers respecting each other's max speed and not assigning speed limits to individual paths then the following can work decently well, but you will need more frequent nodes on the network. Still not a perfect fix.

OnArrival of all NNs:
Code:
//if there are no active travelers on my toedge, set its speed limit to my max speed
treenode portnode = rank(connectionsout(current),toedge);
if(content(rank(portnode,PORT_ACTIVE)) == 0)	//no travelers ahead of me to govern my speed
	set(rank(portnode,PORT_SPEED),getvarnum(traveler,"maxspeed"));
Pretty sure you don't have to optimizenetwork() since the navigator's distance table does not involve speeds.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm Spacing_Speed_Test_KG.fsm (99.2 KB, 73 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Kris Geisberger For This Useful Post:
andrecorreia (08-12-2013), arunkrmahadeva (10-16-2013), Carsten Seehafer (08-11-2013), Esther Bennett (08-11-2013), Jörg Vogel (08-12-2013), Kenny Macleod (08-16-2013), Sebastian Hemmann (08-12-2013)
  #11  
Old 08-12-2013
andrecorreia andrecorreia is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane City
Posts: 12
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 85
andrecorreia is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks a lot, guys.

Sebastian,
I do need all the network nodes. There are other things happening in the model that prevent me from deleting the extra nodes.

Esther and Kris,
Yeah, I think that's the way to go, changing the speed limit of the segments as the trucks pass through nodes.

Thanks again,
Andre.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrecorreia For This Useful Post:
Esther Bennett (08-13-2013)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some bug in basicconvey using spacing value LINWEIXU Q&A 2 08-02-2012 09:14 AM
Question about item (truck) size/spacing? Jamie Santa Ana Container Terminal (CT) Library 2 09-25-2009 10:25 AM
Queueing preempting task Alexandre Ouellet Q&A 3 05-08-2008 09:22 AM
Expertfit cannot find network key - Flexsim Network License Kris Geisberger Q&A 0 02-05-2008 05:10 PM
MergeSort Spacing Rule For Recirculation Sung Kim Q&A 2 01-21-2008 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.