ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
Downloads

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

  #1  
Old 05-19-2010
Samuel Jack Samuel Jack is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Samuel Jack is on a distinguished road
Default DLL Maker and VC++ 2010

Hi,
I've tried the DLL Maker project, and got it to work successfully in VC++ 2008. Now I've tried to upgrade to VC++ 2010, but when I compile in VC++ 2010 I get a load of C2872 errors, like "'rank': ambiguous symbol"; and "'get': ambiguous symbol".

Has anybody got DLL Maker working in VC++ 2010?
  #2  
Old 05-19-2010
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 330
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

I did some testing and I think I found a solution.
I have been able to compile the DLL Maker in Visual Studio C++ 2010 Express.

Try this.
In array.h and FlexsimDefs.h you should change the line
Code:
using namespace std; 
to 
using std::string;
Try know and compile again.

Let me know if you get it to work and I will post the changes to Google Code.

Lars-Olof
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Lars-Olof Leven For This Useful Post:
Tom David (05-19-2010)
  #3  
Old 05-21-2010
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 330
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

The code in Google code is updated with this change.
Have tested also on VS C++ 2008 Std.

Lars-Olof
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Lars-Olof Leven For This Useful Post:
Tom David (05-21-2010)
  #4  
Old 08-26-2010
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 684
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Is there anybody already working with 2010 express?
And what are your impressions so far? Is it worth changing from 2008 already?
The Following User Says Thank You to Steven Hamoen For This Useful Post:
Shahin Gelareh (04-19-2012)
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 684
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Ok, I'm a bit at a dead end here. I'm using some iostream functions in my program and to use them according the latests standards I use:
#include <iostream>

But then I have to use:
using namespace std;

But that does conflict with some flexsim commands (set and rank where ambiguous).

The older way with iostream.h doesn't work (file can't be opened)

So should we create some Flexsim namespace or something?

Edit:
I found my solution, because the Flexsim commands are defined in global space you can put :: in front of the rank and set commands

Last edited by Steven Hamoen; 10-26-2010 at 03:15 PM. Reason: Found a solution
  #6  
Old 04-20-2012
Shahin Gelareh Shahin Gelareh is offline
Postdoctoral Researcher
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Polytech'Lille, France
Posts: 100
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 46
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 112
Shahin Gelareh is on a distinguished road
Default

surprising because that does not work for me with VS 2010 ultimate.
is it committed it to SVN?
  #7  
Old 04-20-2012
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 684
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shahin Gelareh View Post
surprising because that does not work for me with VS 2010 ultimate.
is it committed it to SVN?

I'm not sure what you mean with "that" but the :: have to be infront of every set or rank or those commands, that you use in your code. This is not something that is put in the Flexsim files.

Tags
dll maker


Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVI maker not working Asif Paranjpe Q&A 5 01-17-2008 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -6.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.