ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2014
mearjun mearjun is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 123
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 27
Thanked 19 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 115
mearjun will become famous soon enough
Default How to pick more than one value from an array?

Here is what I need to do. I have an array of lets say 10 items and I want to pick three different items.
For one item I would use something like:
int pickitem = duniform(1,10);
int selectitem = samplearray[pickitem]

I tried to use a 'for' loop and tried to store the 3 selected values in a new array. For example:

doublearray selecteditems = makearray(3);
for (int index = 1; index <= 3; index++)
{
int pickitem = duniform(1,10);
selecteditems[index] = pickitem;
}

The problem I face is that there is no way I could think of to make sure that pickitem variable gets a new value for each value of index.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2014
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 638
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hi,

you can choose you items indirectly from for example from table. In this table you store the references to the item. Each time you choose a row, you copy the reference to your array and delete this row from the table. Next time you choose again the range of the duniform function is reduced: duniform(1,gettablerows(table),random stream)

Jörg
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
mearjun (10-03-2014), Tom David (07-21-2014)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
something wrong in pick list about" Pick Operator with Animation" LINWEIXU Q&A 5 10-16-2013 11:01 AM
Array of Itemtypes - few problems daniel dunst Q&A 1 06-05-2012 10:30 AM
array size juan alberto Q&A 0 12-21-2010 03:03 AM
Can't get value from global array Joe Allen Q&A 7 10-30-2008 09:06 AM
Assign an array to a variable AlanZhang Q&A 6 04-24-2008 01:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.