ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.

flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
Downloads

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Old 01-22-2016
Dan Reisenauer

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Batch and Que Question

Greetings all. I’m new to FlexSim and self-taught. I’ve got a scenario that I’m not sure how to work with the existing objects in the library.

We are filling “blocks”. The blocks are different sizes and are collected in a cart until the cart is full. I would add a parameter to the flowitems so the cart knows when it reaches a specified size it is full. When the cart is full, it begins to move into different zones. The first zone is a filling station. Later zones are for curing and then finally unload to be refilled (it’s a loop). Certain zones have timed stops. I don’t need to simulate the filling or zone stops in detail (thinking use simple processor step, or just a time delay) but mainly want to study the number of carts needed for different block scenarios.

Could this be done by batching in a que and then moving the que?

How about multi-processor with each zone for the cart as a step (but then I can’t visualize it?)?

Or can I program a flow item that carries smaller flow items as the cart?

Any ideas are appreciated!

Thanks!
Old 01-23-2016
FlexSim Development

Downloads: 37
Uploads: 29
Matt Long is a glorious beacon of lightMatt Long is a glorious beacon of lightMatt Long is a glorious beacon of lightMatt Long is a glorious beacon of lightMatt Long is a glorious beacon of light