ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Post Several MTBF/MTTR for 1 processor ?

HI All..

I tried develop simple model, but i have problem in it.
I have 1 processor which has 2 kinds of maintenance.
Both of them use processing time as a reference.

Suppose:
Maintenance A: MTBF=5(constant) MTTR=5(constant)
Maintenance B: MTBF=8(constant) MTTR=6(constant)

In logic, it should be:
time 0-5 (processing)=>time 5-10 (Maintenance A)=>Time 10-13(processing)=> time 13-19(Maintenance B)

To deal with this, i combined "Experimenter" and "MTBF MTTR"
But the result, not as in logic. I think, i should set something in my model, but i don't know where..

Need help, to solve this problem
Thanks in advance
Ankus
Attached Files
File Type: zip SeveralMTBF_MTTR.zip (40.9 KB, 282 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2009
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 520
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

Maybe I am wrong with my idea, but why not using a MultiProcessor with four processes? Give the processes as process time a uniform distribution. The different state of the multiprocessor then shows than some statistics about the different processes.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SeveralMTBF_MTTR_TD.zip (24.4 KB, 265 views)
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tom David For This Useful Post:
ankus d (02-25-2009), Dennis Adams-Smith (02-13-2009)
  #3  
Old 02-12-2009
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 684
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I haven't looked into the model but why not use 2 mtbf's 1 for the first maintenance period and the other for the second period and then select that they only work on the state 'processing'
The first has firstmtbf of 5 and mtbf of 19
The second has firstmtbf of 13 and mtbf of 19

As far as I can tell everything is constant so there should be no probl
em there.

Steven
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Steven Hamoen For This Useful Post:
ankus d (02-25-2009)
  #4  
Old 02-12-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Tom..

If we treat like that the statistic should be:
Suppose, run time =19
Processing1 (5, 26.31%)
Maintenance1 (5, 26.31%)
Processing2 (3, 15.79%)
Maintenance2 (6, 31.58%)

but your model:
Processing1 (4.5, 23.9%)
Maintenance1 (6.6, 34.8%)
Processing2 (5, 26.1%)
Maintenance2 (2.9, 15.3%)

Moreover, if i have many processor and if each processor has 10-15 kinds of maintenance, it could be confusing if i build like your, since i should add many processes in Multiprocessor

Last edited by ankus d; 02-12-2009 at 09:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Hamoen View Post
I haven't looked into the model but why not use 2 mtbf's 1 for the first maintenance period and the other for the second period and then select that they only work on the state 'processing'
The first has firstmtbf of 5 and mtbf of 19
The second has firstmtbf of 13 and mtbf of 19

As far as I can tell everything is constant so there should be no probl
em there.

Steven
Yes, i used 2 mtbf's in my model.

If i have 10-15 kinds of maintenance, and i don't want to calculate firstmtbf like that, and assume we don't want arrange our MTBF first.

I still don't know....

Last edited by ankus d; 02-12-2009 at 10:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2009
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 520
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

Ankus,

Did you have a look into my model or read my post?
I wrote that I used uniform distribution in my model for the process times, because that’s what I understood. Anyway, if you change these to constant times (by expression) then you get exactly the statistics you are looking for.
I agree that using the Multiprocessor might be some effort to build the model if you have lots of maintenance processes. But at least it seems to be a possible solution.
I tried to help you and give you some hints and ideas. Sometimes they are not a solution for the given task, but hopefully still helpful, because they may show a direction which is not a solution and therefore not the way to go.

I hope you will find a solution for your task and if you are successful, please let us know how you did it.
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom David For This Useful Post:
Jing Chen (01-18-2016)
  #7  
Old 02-14-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom David View Post
Ankus,

Did you have a look into my model or read my post?
I wrote that I used uniform distribution in my model for the process times, because that’s what I understood. Anyway, if you change these to constant times (by expression) then you get exactly the statistics you are looking for.
---
I hope you will find a solution for your task and if you are successful, please let us know how you did it.
Yes, I did
Even we change into constant times, the result still different.

I think the problem is that the next maintenance depend on the previous maintenance.

If we have 2 and the run time is short, we can consider as Steven Hamoen said. But if we have several maintenance, it's become problem since we don't want to arrange our schedule first in determining first mtbf for next maintenance.

SO, i am still trying...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2009
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 520
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

What I find very strange is, that you do not get the exact expected times if you switch in my little model to constant times. I let one product in the system and it gives the exect expected times (5,5,3,6). I attached the model to show the times (one product arrives at time 0 and a second one at 60 and the statistics makes absolute sense in my eyes.)
Maybe if this is not solved, that’s why you get strange results.

Anyway, you said that my direction is not the right way to solve your problem and also Steven’s way seems not to be a nice solution. So I guess you need to find another way and maybe someone else has some hints for you.
I wish you good success.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SeveralMTBF_MTTR2_TD.zip (24.4 KB, 251 views)
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom David View Post
So I guess you need to find another way and maybe someone else has some hints for you.
I wish you good success.
Thank you Tom, for your attention.
I am waiting for the others idea..

Last edited by ankus d; 02-17-2009 at 08:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

I am still stuck on this problem ...

Any ideas..??
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-23-2009
Brandon Peterson's Avatar
Brandon Peterson Brandon Peterson is offline
The Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 382
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6
Thanks: 192
Thanked 516 Times in 235 Posts
Rep Power: 489
Brandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant future
Default

Ankus,

What exactly are you looking for? Both Tom and Steven gave excelent examples for solving the problem but it hasn't seemed to answer your question. The only conclusion that I can draw is that you need to be more specific about your question and about why the answers given don't work. I think that this would allow people to be more capable of helping out.

Good Luck,
Brandon
__________________
thats not normal.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brandon Peterson For This Useful Post:
ankus d (02-25-2009)
  #12  
Old 02-23-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Brandon for your response..

Actually I have 5 processor...and for each processor has 10 different kinds of maintenance.

I want to schedule maintenance for those processor.
So in this case i want to evaluate the impact of maintenance schedule...

To deal with, i collect all mttb/mttr for different maintenance task of processor..

I am trying to automate model so that it can read logic of mttb/mttr, without arrange manually.

So in this case, is it possible if we just input exact mttb/mttr for those processor?? since in the next process i will also update this mttb/mttr automatically
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-24-2009
Brandon Peterson's Avatar
Brandon Peterson Brandon Peterson is offline
The Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 382
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6
Thanks: 192
Thanked 516 Times in 235 Posts
Rep Power: 489
Brandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant future
Default

Ankus,

Is it really a schedule that you are after? By schedule I mean that the down times always occur in a distinct sequence at specific times? Or is it that you have 10 different randomly occuring breakdowns that have no effect on each other?
__________________
thats not normal.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-24-2009
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 642
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hi Ankus,

I attache a model, which uses three different constant values for mtbf. The change is controlled by a global variable, that is incrementated with every mtbf event. The model behaves similar to the first model by Tom.

Jörg

PS: I change the attachment file
Attached Files
File Type: zip SequentialBreakdown.zip (25.9 KB, 610 views)

Last edited by Jörg Vogel; 12-03-2014 at 03:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
ankus d (02-25-2009)
  #15  
Old 02-25-2009
ankus d ankus d is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 138
ankus d is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi all...
Finally i found trick for my problem...
I added simple code in fistmtbf, mtbf, mttr and resume function.

so, mtbf will dynamically change, but the actual mtbf still the same as reference.

Thank you all, i appreciate your response and comment, it's make me feel "I am not alone"..and trigger some ideas for me..
Attached Files
File Type: zip SeveralMTBFMTTR_AD.zip (39.0 KB, 248 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-18-2016
José Soares
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Ankus

Could please you submit the last attachment again?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutting of Processor Lilian_wulp Q&A 1 11-23-2008 02:08 AM
Processor Martijn van Oostenbrugge Q&A 0 08-27-2008 03:01 PM
MTBF Question Gavin Douglas Q&A 4 07-02-2008 11:12 AM
Problem with Processor Output avinash Q&A 2 03-26-2008 09:19 AM
Multi-Processor Help Davie Stomp Q&A 3 01-27-2008 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.