ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default Visual Studio 2005 or 2008?

Hi,

I in the progress to buy Visual Studio and I want to know of you will support Visual Studio 2008 when it comes?
I think Visual Studio 2008 will be on the market early next year.

Was wondering how you will do with DLL Wizard for 2005, if you will support
the DLL Wizard for both 2005 and 2008 or only for one if the versions?

The best thing if you can get Flexsim to work with the Express version of Visual Studio C++ 20005 and 2008.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2007
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 729
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

We hope to make the next release compatible with Visual Studio 2008 Express Edition, which is already available from Microsoft's web site. Since it is already available and the current version isn't compatible with 2005 Express Edition, we will simply skip support for 2005 express edition and work on getting it compatible with 2008 (although if it is easy to support 2005 express edition, we may put that in).

We haven't discussed yet how we plan on maintaining the DLL wizards. I would assume we will make a DLL wizard for 2008, but I don't know if we plan on continued maintenance of the 2005 wizard.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Anthony Johnson For This Useful Post:
Brandon Peterson (10-08-2009)
  #3  
Old 11-28-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi Anthony,

Thanks for the answer.

I will wait to buy Visual Studio until 2008 is released or you get the 2008 Express Version to work with Flexsim.

Do you know if your Wizard is working in Express Version of Visual Studio?

Lars-Olof

Last edited by Anthony Johnson; 11-28-2007 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2007
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 729
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

No, I don't know if it works in 2005 Express Edition.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi Anthony,

I installed Visual C++ 2005 Express and the wizard.
The wizard is not working in the Express version

What I found when I was looking around on the net is that the Express version is not supporting Add-In like your Wizard.
I am not sure how it is for the 2008 version.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2007
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hi Lars-Olof, (and Anthony)

I was curious, can you open a 2003 or 2005 solution in 2008? And as we are creating DLL's, have you tested already if we can create the DLL with the express version? I think that theoretically it shouldn' be a problem.

I was planning to test it myself next week or so (if I can find a spare hour somewhere) but if somebody else already has done it, that would save some time.

Regards,

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi Steven,

I have not yet tested 2008.

What I have tested is to take a 2003 (standard version) and then open that one in 2005 (professional version), there where no problem.

Next thing I did was to take the project from 2005 (professional) and open that one in 2005 Express, no problem.

So the answer is that you can build DLL in the express version and also take the whole project from a standard or professional version of 2005 and be used in the express version of 2005.

I will test to take the project from expression version to my installation at home. You will have an answer tomorrow.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2007
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hi Lars-Olof,

That sounds very promising. Thanks for testing and the quick reply.


Steven
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

Have now tested my project from work on my home computer and there where no problem to create the DLL.

You can move a project between the Express version and a regular version without any problem.
In my case between Visual C++ 2005 Express and Visual Studio 2005 Pro.

It should not be any problem to use the project from 2005 in 2008. I went from 2003 to 2005 without any problems.
I have not tested 2008 Express.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi,

I have now tested Visual C++ 2008 Express and I could compile a DLL.

I used the project from 2005 and used that in 2008, no problem.
The only thing that is different from 2005 and 2008 is that in 2008 Express glaux.lib is not included anymore. I removed glaux.lib from the project and compiled and run the DLL without any problems.
If glaux.lib is included in Standard/Pro version of 2008 I do not know.

Anthony:
Is glaux.lib used by Flexsim? Can it be removed, when creating DLL?

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-03-2007
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 729
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

There was some old code in the engine that used glaux.lib, but we don't use it anymore and have taken the linkage out for the next version.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-11-2007
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 514
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

Now it shows again, that I am not a programmer.

What do I need to do to remove the glaux.lib from my project.
Where can I find the code to delete it?

Thanks in advance ...
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-11-2007
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 678
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

He Tom,

The fact that you don't know your way around visual studio doesn't mean you are not a programmer. If you work in simulation as long as you do, you must be a programmer (and a good one) otherwise you would have been fired long ago


Concerning your problem of the glaux.lib, maybe there are other ways but this is what I know.
Open visual studio with your project (dll or flexsim).
Open the solution explorer (via the view menu)
Right click the project (The top node in that tree is the solution so click 1 level deeper on the project)
Go to properties (last option)
Then the properties window opens en click on the Linker folder in the tree
Then click on input
There you see "additional dependencies" and you can find glaux.lib there
simply remove it

I think that this is it. If anyone has any comment please feel free

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-11-2007
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 514
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

Steven,

Thanks for your kind words. But thah's why I am a Freelancer, so nobody can fire me, beside myself .

Anway, thanks for your help and it is working.

It is interesting to see that the *.ncb file gets very big. Before it was around 100 kb and now it is over 8 MB. Also build the DLL takes much longer. But maybe this is only because he still has to convert the 2003 stuff to 2008.
I don't know, and the important bit is, that I have a DLL from 2008 now .
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-11-2007
Lars-Olof Leven Lars-Olof Leven is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden, Borlnge
Posts: 312
Downloads: 278
Uploads: 2
Thanks: 300
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 324
Lars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to beholdLars-Olof Leven is a splendid one to behold
Default

Hi Tom,

I can tell you that to create a DLL in 2005 also take a long time but the size is the same in 2005 as in 2003.

Regarding the .ncb file I found on the net that Microsoft have changed how they create the .ncb file from 2003 to 2005.
The .ncb file is used for auto completion (one of many thing), in 2003 they had a pre build .ncb file and now it seams it build every time for a project.

To remove glaux.lib I did the same as Steven describes it.

Lars-Olof
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-01-2008
qin tian qin tian is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 137
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 59
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 155
qin tian is on a distinguished road
Default

Does flexsim 4.3 β support visual studio 2005?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-02-2008
Anthony Johnson's Avatar
Anthony Johnson Anthony Johnson is offline
Manager of Product Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 440
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 4
Thanks: 171
Thanked 899 Times in 288 Posts
Rep Power: 729
Anthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond reputeAnthony Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Yes, 4.3 will be compatible with VS 2005
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.