ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.

flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
Downloads

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Old 02-17-2009
Flexsim User

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Doug Beaton is on a distinguished road
Default Developer's manual / Adding new object classes

Hi there,

I'm somewhat new to FlexSim but am well versed in C++ and object-oriented programming. I'd like to make some additions to the program so that the models I build more closely resemble the real-life processes I'm trying to simulate. My first question is a simple one:

1.) Is there any kind of developer's manual or similar document that outlines the code structure, and the steps necessary to add new object classes to FlexSim?

My second question isn't so much of a question per se, but an invitation for ideas/comments about what I'm trying to do. For starters I'd like to create two new object classes. One is a discrete flow item that is capable of carrying a certain amount of fluid (but does not necessarily have fluid in it all the time). The second is a processor that receives these new flow items, fills them with fluid (via a fluid input connected to the processor) and then sends them on their way.