ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2011
juan alberto juan alberto is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 74
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 19
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 136
juan alberto is on a distinguished road
Default problem with recycle and restore item

Hi all,

I have a problem with virtual racks.

In my model I create 5 boxes with a label ( "order" ), that it represents the order of creation.

When this boxes entry to the the rack, they become virtual objects.

The problem is when I restore them, the labels don't keep their value before entering to the rack.

For instance, the first box that I create have the label "order" = 1, but when this box is restored the value of it isn't order = 1.

I have the following questions.

1. How I can keep the previous value (label)?
2. and How I can see where flexsim store this labels in the tree when the boxes are virtuals?

I attached my model.
Attached Files
File Type: zip virtual rack.zip (44.1 KB, 144 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2011
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 771
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Juan, none of that information is cached as far as I can see. The newly 'restored' flowitem gets a new creation time as well.

I expect that the more information you store, the less benefit this virtual mode will have in improved speed. While in virtual mode the drawing speed improves and memory is reduced, by recording specific attribute values for each item you're adding some operations and increasing the memory required again.

If you don't have a vast number of different types, one workaround for now would be to create a different flowitem for each type. Just remember that the creationtinme will be wrong if you're going to do that.

Otherewise it's a matter of creating your own cache of information and restoring it yourself, in which case you might as well write your own version of rackrecycleitem and rackrestoreitem. It does mention in the command help that these techniques are for advanced users, which to me says some extra coding and debugging could be involved if it doesn't meet requirements 'out of the box'.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
Brandon Peterson (03-09-2011)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving item into patient David Chan FlexSim HC: Q&A 6 06-15-2010 08:35 AM
Lowest performance item? Tom David Q&A 2 04-29-2010 02:06 PM
Random pick item KelvinHo Q&A 3 09-03-2009 08:19 AM
Item exiting Queue Lilian_wulp Q&A 1 11-24-2008 02:51 AM
different capacity for different flow item for a same TE KelvinHo Q&A 10 08-28-2008 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.