ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2009
KelvinHo KelvinHo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 129
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 167
KelvinHo will become famous soon enough
Default Random pick item

Hi,

I would like to ask a simple question as below:

In the connection of:
source -> queue -> combiner
what can i do to let the combiner to random pick items in the queue (not fifo or lifo)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2009
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 516
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

My first idea would be to define the position of the items in the queue at OnEntry, which can be random:

int iRank = duniform(1, content(current) + 1);
setrank(item,iRank);

The combiner always takes the first item and if I change the rank in the queue it is a kind of randomness which one he chooses.
It is not exactly what you are asking for, but I guess it could be still a solution. Or at least it will give you a hint.
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tom David For This Useful Post:
Brandon Peterson (09-03-2009), KelvinHo (09-09-2009)
  #3  
Old 09-03-2009
KelvinHo KelvinHo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 129
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 167
KelvinHo will become famous soon enough
Default

Thanks, problem solved
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2009
Brandon Peterson's Avatar
Brandon Peterson Brandon Peterson is offline
The Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 382
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 6
Thanks: 192
Thanked 516 Times in 235 Posts
Rep Power: 486
Brandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant futureBrandon Peterson has a brilliant future
Default

Kelvin,

Another method would be to randomly select an item from the Queue with the Pull Requirement. You would need a label to store a variable and the following code.

if(getrank(item) == 1)
{
setlabelnum(current, "ItemRank", duniform(1, content(inobject(current, port))));
}

return getrank(item) == getlabelnum(current, "ItemRank");

If you only wanted to do the random pull for the pallets or for the items then you would need a port check first. Here is the code for that:

//Only randomly pull pallets
if(port > 1) return 1;

//Only randomly pull items
if(port == 1) return 1;

So, now you have two different methods to do the same thing.

Good Luck,
Brandon
__________________
thats not normal.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brandon Peterson For This Useful Post:
Tom David (09-03-2009)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pick window on conveyor. Neil Brandon Q&A 9 02-04-2013 03:12 AM
Repeat Random Streams Cliff King Q&A 16 08-30-2012 10:49 AM
I would like the pick up from the rack in function of a variable demand rate... mariogib Q&A 1 03-13-2009 10:53 PM
Flexsim beginners are sometimes just amazing (Rack - Pick Operator) Tom David Q&A 1 12-05-2008 10:35 AM
More random random number Paul Dowling Q&A 6 06-01-2008 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.