ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2008
Bill Lank Bill Lank is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 152
Bill Lank is on a distinguished road
Default Excel Multiple Table Import Problem

I'm having an issue with the way Flexsim is importing Excel data when the the Windows Regional and Language Settings are anything except English (United States). The problem is that with the US setting Excel uses a decimal point to start the decimal part of a number (e.g. 1.32), however, in European countries this same number uses a comma (e.g. 1,32). The behavior in Flexsim is such that when using US settings decimal values are imported correctly but with European setting the decimal part of the number is being truncated. Does anybody have a solution to this issue, I'm sure I'm missing some setting when I'm doing the Import. I've attached a simple Excel file that will demonstrate the problem.
Attached Files
File Type: zip TestImport.zip (1.4 KB, 327 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2008
Tom David's Avatar
Tom David Tom David is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany
Posts: 430
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 47
Thanks: 486
Thanked 450 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 516
Tom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant futureTom David has a brilliant future
Default

I just tested your little Excel example and in my eyes I can just read the Excel table into a Global Table in Flexsim by just using the Excel Interface and the Single Table Import.
As far as I know most of the issue we had regarding Excel are gone since Flexsim changed the communication from DDE to OLE. I using the current Version 4.32!
I will try to attach a screen shot to this post and hope it will work that you can see, that it is working.
I read the post again and read that you like to use Multiple Table Import and tried this too and it is working too.
So in my case everything is working.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ExcelImport.jpg
Views:	304
Size:	141.2 KB
ID:	535  
__________________
tom the (A)tom: "We have solved our problems ... now we have to fight the solutions."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2008
Bill Lank Bill Lank is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 152
Bill Lank is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for your reply, I'm attaching a screen shot of what I get. The only thing that I see different is the version of Excel unless there is another setting in Flexsim that I'm unaware of (normally I work in English but I support some users who are in Europe)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ExcelError.jpg
Views:	282
Size:	133.3 KB
ID:	536  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excel Data Import Sung Kim Q&A 2 07-16-2010 10:41 AM
how to import excel in source? qin tian Q&A 6 01-11-2010 10:58 PM
Problem with importing Excel data David Chan Q&A 5 03-05-2009 01:49 AM
Can I make a column of a global table to type table? qin tian Q&A 0 10-01-2008 09:27 PM
Problems with Excel-Import tobias.biemueller Q&A 1 06-18-2008 06:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.