ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.

flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
Downloads

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Old 08-07-2009
Flexsim User

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Joshua Cole is on a distinguished road
Default Sketchup Pro Export Settings

Good morning everyone. My name is Joshua Cole and I am an industrial engineer in the restaurant industry. My question concerns importing a 3D model from Google Sketchup Pro into Flexsim.

Using Sketchup Pro, I have exported my model in WRL, 3DS, and DXF file formats. In Flexsim, I drag a VisualTool into my model, go into its properties, and change the Visual Display to "Imported Shape." I then direct the model to the filename of the exported file. The scale of the VisualTool is set to 1x1x1.

When I tried the WRL and 3DS filetypes, nothing happened. There wasn't even a lag time to hint that the model was being loaded. Once I click "OK" on the properties window of the VisualTool, all I see is a blank screen, no matter how far in or out I zoom.

When I tried the DXF filetype, I was able to see the model, but the quality was very poor. I've heard that the WRL filetype is the best one to use, so I'm hoping that someone has a suggestion on how I can get the WRL import working. Are there settings within Sketchup Pro that I need to change prior to exporting?

For reference, I have the Flexsim Graphics Configurator set on High Compatibility. Also, the filetypes were all 3-5 MB in size. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Old 08-07-2009