ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Installation
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Installation Installation, licensing and hardware issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2010
David Chan David Chan is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 326
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 217
Thanked 73 Times in 44 Posts
Rep Power: 216
David Chan has a spectacular aura aboutDavid Chan has a spectacular aura aboutDavid Chan has a spectacular aura about
Default Sketchup driver failure

Hi,

I have tried to install a number of installation that faces the problem of not been able to install the sketchup dll. I just ignore the installation. Does anyone knows what is the general problem with that and what is solution?

Thanks

David
__________________
Advent2 Labs
David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2010
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1172
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

The sketchup dll has some dependencies in order to register it. If you see the "SketchUpReader.dll failed to register" error message during the installation, your computer is missing these dependencies. You can click the ignore button and the installation will finish allowing you to run Flexsim, but the skp import won't work.

As of 19 April 2011, I found the missing dependencies. They will be included in future Flexsim installers. To fix this problem in the mean time, you can install this package from Microsoft:
vcredist_x86.exe : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...displaylang=en

You can then run the Flexsim 5 installer again and choose the "Repair" option. This will then correctly register the sketchupreader.dll and make it so the skp importer in Flexsim 5 works.

Last edited by Phil BoBo; 06-29-2012 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Phil BoBo For This Useful Post:
David Chan (12-03-2010), Edson Fernandes (02-04-2012)
  #3  
Old 12-03-2010
Kenny Macleod's Avatar
Kenny Macleod Kenny Macleod is offline
Flexsim Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 136
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 86
Thanked 38 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 174
Kenny Macleod will become famous soon enoughKenny Macleod will become famous soon enough
Default

That would be good Phil. We can't in all honesty say that Flexsim is fully compatible with Sketchup files if it needs Sketchup to have already been installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2010
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1172
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

It doesn't need Sketchup to be installed, but there are certain dlls that are not on some computers. Installing Sketchup ensures that those dlls are available, but the Sketchup program itself isn't required in most cases.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2011
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1172
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Some other people on other forums with the same problem on a different software package were able to get the missing dependencies by installing the 2005 C++ runtime redistributable from Microsoft:
vcredist_x86.exe : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...displaylang=en

Last edited by Phil BoBo; 04-19-2011 at 03:34 PM. Reason: changed the link to the necessary version
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Phil BoBo For This Useful Post:
Jörg Vogel (02-02-2011), Sebastian Schreiber (02-02-2011)
  #6  
Old 02-02-2011
Sebastian Schreiber's Avatar
Sebastian Schreiber Sebastian Schreiber is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Sebastian Schreiber is on a distinguished road
Default

Phil,

thanks for this hint.
But I had this package already installed. Nevertheless, I got the error message during installation of Flexsim 5.10. After installing Sketchup, the repair option worked without an error.

As Kenny mentoined before:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Macleod View Post
We can't in all honesty say that Flexsim is fully compatible with Sketchup files if it needs Sketchup to have already been installed.
With Flexsim 5.04 didn't have this problem ...

Best regards,

Sebastian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2011
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1172
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

In an attempt to fix this problem for version 5.1, we updated the SketchupReader.dll to the latest version from Google. Unfortunately, I think this made the problem worse (it seems to be happening on more computers now).

I've spent days trying to figure out what dependencies are missing and how to resolve this, but the only thing that works consistently is installing Sketchup on machines that have this problem.

EDIT: In stead of using the Sketchup installer, this package from Microsoft installs the missing dependencies:
vcredist_x86.exe : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...displaylang=en

Last edited by Phil BoBo; 04-19-2011 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Phil BoBo For This Useful Post:
Sebastian Schreiber (02-07-2011)
  #8  
Old 02-07-2011
michaelsmith michaelsmith is offline
TMN Simulation -Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Posts: 62
Downloads: 7
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 31
Thanked 19 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 168
michaelsmith will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian Schreiber View Post
With Flexsim 5.04 didn't have this problem ...
We had that issue here when we installed 5.04 under XP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installation, sketchup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sketchup color mbaccalaro Q&A 7 04-11-2011 03:54 PM
Sketchup Pro Export Settings Joshua Cole Q&A 7 03-15-2011 10:08 AM
Does Flexsim support Google SketchUp ? qin tian Q&A 10 02-05-2011 12:04 PM
Flexsim doesn't show Sketchup textures Steven Hamoen Q&A 5 12-01-2010 01:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.