ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2011
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 207
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default item flow coordination in modified processor onject

I modified the processor shape as the shortest length processor in AC3D.
I did not move the centre of the processor.
But the flow item do not enter in the centre of belt.
It looks like entering in the centre of the processor.

What's the problem when modified and saving the 3D object.

I attached the problem screen of the modified processor and the AC3D screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	flow position in Coordinate.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	86.8 KB
ID:	1293   Click image for larger version

Name:	Modifying object center of XYZ in AC3D.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	484.6 KB
ID:	1294  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2011
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 769
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You can just set the y and z axis values you want in the entry trigger, rather than try and configure your shape and bounding box to match the default position. So an example would be:

setnodenum(spatialy(item),<myvalue>)

Find the values by pausing the model and moving the flowitem to the correct position, when it is inside the processor - then look at its attributes spatialy and spatialz (you can see them in the view status bar, item's parameters GUI or tree).
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
Jörg Vogel (03-09-2011), Sebastian Hemmann (03-09-2011), syseo (03-09-2011)
  #3  
Old 03-09-2011
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 207
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thanks.
I solved the problem using set location of the items in the entry trigger as you said.
But I want to know the reason of it and how to control it in 3D modeling tool.

Is it complicate to make fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2011
Jason Lightfoot Jason Lightfoot is offline
Flexsim Consultant
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 719
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 123
Thanked 953 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 769
Jason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond reputeJason Lightfoot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Well the default action on a processor is to position the item in the middle of the yellow bounding box when it is received, then based upon the 'convey' flag the x value is updated to reflect the processing percentage (across the width of the object). So you can change the 3D offsets so that the loading/processing position of the 3D shape is exactly in the center, but if you import 3ds objects the bounding box get set for you these days. I actually think the bounding box should contain all the geometry/polygons, since it represents the size/extents of that object, so I wouldn't compromise that for the sake of having the position correct in the 3d shape.

Ideally, we'd be able to attach some other data to the shape to tell flexsim where the loading/processing position is, and populate some variables based on those which are then used to position the object. Even this could be too simplified.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jason Lightfoot For This Useful Post:
syseo (03-10-2011)
Reply

Tags
3d coordination, flow item coordination

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow item in object in time 0 KelvinHo Q&A 17 04-17-2012 09:12 AM
Question on Multiple transportors for a flow item KelvinHo Q&A 2 05-31-2010 12:34 AM
different capacity for different flow item for a same TE KelvinHo Q&A 10 08-28-2008 08:12 AM
Changing flow item by time KelvinHo Q&A 6 08-13-2008 07:58 AM
Sequence of Flow Items Through a Processor Anthony Timmiss Q&A 0 06-11-2008 02:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.