ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2007
AlanZhang's Avatar
AlanZhang AlanZhang is offline
Flexsim Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 289
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 88
Thanked 91 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 222
AlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the rough
Default Version control of Flexsim model

Has anybody thought of version control of the Flexsim model? A few good and free version control tools are available on the internet, for example, CVS and SubVersion. However, these are basically good at comparing text files. Since Flexsim can import and export XML model, which is a text file, we could apply version control tools to the Flexsim XML model. Version control is very useful if multiple people working on the same model, or even one person but having many model versions. Just want to know if anyone has used version control or XML models in Flexsim and he/she may be able to share some experiences.

Thanks.
Alan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2007
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 681
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Alan,

We use tortoise VCS when building user libraries. But that only works good for all .h and .cpp files and for instance media files that are not changed regularly. For Libraries it is still a bit of a pain because we don't save libraries in text/xml format (we might test that 1 time). For models it is the same as with libraries I guess.

The advantage is simply that you have everything together and for the .h and .cpp files it works excellent.

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2007
AlanZhang's Avatar
AlanZhang AlanZhang is offline
Flexsim Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 289
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 88
Thanked 91 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 222
AlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the rough
Default

Steven,

Good to know that you are using TortoiseCVS (I guess it is CVS). I never used CVS system before, but used TotoriseSVN. I think both tools are good.

I may do some experiment on Flexsim XML model too.

Thanks.
Alan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2007
Cliff King's Avatar
Cliff King Cliff King is offline
Vice President Technical Services
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 272
Downloads: 158
Uploads: 14
Thanks: 102
Thanked 304 Times in 110 Posts
Rep Power: 409
Cliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud ofCliff King has much to be proud of
Default

Before we had XML, we lost a software sale to Northrup Grumman once because they were determined they needed to use version control software among their simulation modelers. We use CVS for the Flexsim software development.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2007
AlanZhang's Avatar
AlanZhang AlanZhang is offline
Flexsim Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 289
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 88
Thanked 91 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 222
AlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the roughAlanZhang is a jewel in the rough
Default

Why XML model is so big? I just create a very simple model with only one source, one queue, one processor, and one sink. It is already more than 3 MB. Do not know what negative effects could be if using version control on these huge files. But certainly it would be hard to read and compare the xml file to incorporate changes from different versions or different users in SubVersion.

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2007
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 681
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Alan,

I checked and we use TortoiseSVN. Very handy is incorporated in the windows popup menu etc.

Concerning this large size, I think this is the same as with an Autocad drawing, if you export it to DXF. The problem is that everything has to be described by using text. So you need a lot of text. The advantage is that if you zip it,it becomes very small (I think)

I have no idea how SVC or CVS handles it. Testing would be the only solution here I guess

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2010
Lydia Franck Lydia Franck is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sankt Augustin, Germany
Posts: 23
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 132
Lydia Franck is on a distinguished road
Default Saving and opening xml models

Dear all,

I am currently trying to use the XML functionality but it does not work. When I choose "File | XML Files | Save XML Model", I get a file dialog, but there is no possibility to choose ".xml". Just "Flexsim Model" and "Tree".

Can anybody help me?

Many thanks in advance,
Lydia.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2010
Phil BoBo's Avatar
Phil BoBo Phil BoBo is offline
Flexsim Development
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 756
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,483 Times in 525 Posts
Rep Power: 1171
Phil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond reputePhil BoBo has a reputation beyond repute
Default

In 4.5.2, that menu option saves an xml file with the extension fsm. You can view the contents and see that it is ASCII XML instead of binary data using a text editor like Notepad. The "Open XML Model" also allows you to browse for xml Flexsim models (fsm extension).

We overhauled the xml system that Flexsim 4.5.2 used in 5.0. In Flexsim 5, when you save an xml file, it saves it with a .fsx extension and it follows a different schema. This is done through normal save/open dialogs rather than a special xml menu.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Phil BoBo For This Useful Post:
Lydia Franck (07-14-2010), RalfGruber (07-14-2010)
  #9  
Old 11-27-2014
Graca Silva
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
Default

Do you still use TortoiseSVN? Because I see so in the manual but somewhere I saw you migrated to Mercurial. I am trying this feature now but I wanted to know which one you think is best.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2014
Carsten Seehafer's Avatar
Carsten Seehafer Carsten Seehafer is offline
FlexSim Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ritterhude, Deutschland
Posts: 230
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 474
Thanked 320 Times in 143 Posts
Rep Power: 376
Carsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud ofCarsten Seehafer has much to be proud of
Default

I'm using TortoiseHg and it works very well. Mercurial is included in the installation. You can download it from http://tortoisehg.bitbucket.org/

If you use Visual Studio you can also install an Visual Studio plugin called VisualHg. You find more information about at this website: http://visualhg.codeplex.com/
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Carsten Seehafer For This Useful Post:
arunkrmahadeva (12-09-2014), Graca Silva (11-28-2014), Sebastian Hemmann (11-29-2014)
  #11  
Old 11-28-2014
Steven Hamoen's Avatar
Steven Hamoen Steven Hamoen is offline
Talumis, Flexsim Distributor, The Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Soest, NL
Posts: 854
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 391
Thanked 661 Times in 379 Posts
Rep Power: 681
Steven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond reputeSteven Hamoen has a reputation beyond repute
Default

We also switched over to TortoiseHG and are very happy in comparison with SVN. Merging c++ is so much easier and actually works. Merging models, even with using filemaps, does not always work as expected.
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Steven Hamoen For This Useful Post:
Graca Silva (11-28-2014), mgiubilato (12-02-2014), Phil BoBo (11-29-2014), Sebastian Hemmann (11-29-2014)
Reply

Tags
version control, xml

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.