ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2011
Christian Norregaard Christian Norregaard is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 59
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 33
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 108
Christian Norregaard will become famous soon enough
Default Returning elevators to a certain position when idle

Hi all.

I am working on simulating a fully automated parking garage, where cars are freighted down into a storage facility on an elevator. I have a problem, which is probably caused by my rather limited experience with FlexSim:

When the elevators are idle, I need them to travel to the top position. (Z=10)

I tried using the OnResourceAvailable trigger to 'Travel to a home location', but I couldn't get it to work. The current destination is
Code:
centerobject(current, 1)
Can anyone offer a suggestion on how to get my elevators to travel up when idle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2011
RalfGruber's Avatar
RalfGruber RalfGruber is offline
FlexSim Software Products
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orem, UT, USA
Posts: 195
Downloads: 37
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 518
Thanked 294 Times in 124 Posts
Rep Power: 338
RalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to beholdRalfGruber is a splendid one to behold
Default

Christian,

if you want to send it to a home location using that trigger you need to specify the home location:

centerobject(current,1) by default

and the condition to send the guy home:

content(gettasksequencequeue(resource))==0 by default

The condition checks, if the tasksequencequeue of the TE does have any task sequences to fullfill. If it is empty that's the sign to send the guy home, because he is idle

When you don't get it to run with this explanation, please attach a model for us to look at.

Thanks and good luck

Ralf
Flexsim US
Flexsim Germany
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RalfGruber For This Useful Post:
Christian Norregaard (10-25-2011)
Reply

Tags
elevator travel home idle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Empty & Idle Warehouse at the end of the day Labro Eleni Q&A 3 08-08-2011 04:08 AM
Dispatch task only on idle dispatcher waiting on a certain node shafizad Q&A 12 02-03-2011 01:56 PM
IDLE and EMPTY Lydia Franck Q&A 2 08-05-2010 03:03 AM
How to find the idle time of the job/product? shivrash Q&A 5 04-09-2008 09:01 AM
Set reset position Martijn van Oostenbrugge Q&A 1 02-25-2008 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.