ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
Downloads

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

  #1  
Old 03-26-2013
Manoj Kumar Manoj Kumar is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India
Posts: 77
Downloads: 71
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Manoj Kumar is on a distinguished road
Default Separator Unpack

Hi,
When i use unpack option using by expression in separator it separates the last combined item first, but i need the separator to unpack the item based on itemtype so that items can separated irrespective of the order in which they got combined.How this can be done...
Thanks,
Manoj.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm seperator unpack.fsm (83.3 KB, 77 views)
  #2  
Old 03-27-2013
David Chan David Chan is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 326
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 217
Thanked 73 Times in 44 Posts
Rep Power: 218
David Chan has a spectacular aura aboutDavid Chan has a spectacular aura aboutDavid Chan has a spectacular aura about
Default

Hi

This can be done by using a few objects. This way simplify the requirement of coding. Please see the model enclosed.

David
Attached Files
File Type: fsm seperating different itemtype.fsm (43.0 KB, 86 views)
__________________
Advent2 Labs
David
The Following User Says Thank You to David Chan For This Useful Post:
Manoj Kumar (03-27-2013)
  #3  
Old 03-27-2013
Manoj Kumar Manoj Kumar is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India
Posts: 77
Downloads: 71
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Manoj Kumar is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi David,
Thanks, Your way of using pull option solved the problem using some extra queues and combiner.
But in separator under By expression option a note which reads "
The expression may be a constant value or the result of a command (getitemtype(item), getlabelnum(item, "labelname"), etc". How to use this getitemtype(item) command to unpack the specified itemtype from separator?
  #4  
Old 03-28-2013
David Chan David Chan is offline
Flexsim Distributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 326
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 217
Thanked 73 Times in 44 Posts
Rep Power: 218
David Chan has a spectacular aura aboutDavid Chan has a spectacular aura aboutDavid Chan has a spectacular aura about
Default

Hi

What it means to remove the number of flowitem according to the expression. So if itemtype is 2, then remove 2 pieces.

If you want to implement with Separator, you need to do it manually using moveobject(). That is use Do not Release. You need to use a "for" loop to search for the itemtype that fit your requirement then move it out.

David
__________________
Advent2 Labs
David
The Following User Says Thank You to David Chan For This Useful Post:
Manoj Kumar (04-02-2013)
  #5  
Old 03-28-2013
Manoj Kumar Manoj Kumar is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India
Posts: 77
Downloads: 71
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Manoj Kumar is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi,
can this be added to the features of seperator which saves the time needed for coding. Generally this would be case of dismantling operation in real life cases.
Thanks,
Manoj.
  #6  
Old 04-02-2013
Manoj Kumar Manoj Kumar is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India
Posts: 77
Downloads: 71
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Manoj Kumar is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi David,
Thanks, was able to complete using moveobject() command in separator.
Regards,
Manoj.
  #7  
Old 04-03-2013
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 642
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hi Manoj,

you can change the order of the packed flowitems before the flowitem (pallet) enters the separator. The unpacked flowitems don't activate a new stacking of the still packed flowitems. Instead you will see blank cells in the stack.
Jörg
  #8  
Old 04-03-2013
Manoj Kumar Manoj Kumar is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India
Posts: 77
Downloads: 71
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 106
Manoj Kumar is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Jorg,
How the order of items packed can be changed, can this be done using rank() command or by any other means. Please explain.
Thanks,
Manoj.
  #9  
Old 04-03-2013
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 642
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Thumbs up

That's right. Use setrank on the item as a container. The method works in a previous object. Or you place a queue in front of the separator. Put the packed item you want to separate at the last rank:
setrank(rank(item, 2),content(item)); // 2 is the rank of the item You separate

Move all the items to the end of the container and unpack the amount of those in the separator.

Jörg
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
Manoj Kumar (04-04-2013)


Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to get the last item in separator? oliver xie Q&A 6 10-28-2011 08:20 AM
Simple Separator Question Anthony Timmiss Q&A 1 01-25-2010 08:22 AM
o(Separator, current).v_unpack Dane Lee Q&A 2 08-05-2009 02:29 PM
Unpack an pallet Michael Hartlieb Q&A 3 07-20-2009 09:04 AM
Problem about Separator wutian Q&A 8 06-18-2008 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -6.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.