ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Flexsim Student Forum
FAQ Downloads Calendar Search Mark Forums Read

Flexsim Student Forum Forum for discussion for Flexsim Students using the Flexsim Textbook.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2015
hendry teo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default constant speed for crane

Hi all

Can someone teach me how to make the crane move at a constant speed, in any moment? I hope there is neither acceleration nor deceleration, so as long as the crane is moving, it will travel at that speed only.

Thank you so much for your help!

Hendry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2015
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 635
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Hendry,

I believe I have read about the values to set here in the forum. But I can't remember where. You can still test it on your own. If you build a model with a defined travel distance and set the crane using only one direction you can test typical values 0 and -1. If it does not work for you, you can set the acceleration and deceleration to a very high value. Then there is in error in your results, but it is nearly zero.

Jörg
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
hendry teo (06-11-2015)
  #3  
Old 06-11-2015
hendry teo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Jorg

Thanks so much for the help.

Can you please clarify what you meant by "set the crane using only one direction"?

So far, what I tried is that I make all the acceleration and deceleration values become zero (0). Then I only change the value of "Max Speed" of its gantry/hoist/trolley to, say, X m/s. I observed that, within one second, the crane is still able to travel X meter. Is there anything wrong with my method?

Thank you very much!

Hendry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2015
sagar bolisetti's Avatar
sagar bolisetti sagar bolisetti is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hyderabad,India
Posts: 160
Downloads: 145
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 124
Thanked 99 Times in 63 Posts
Rep Power: 143
sagar bolisetti is a jewel in the roughsagar bolisetti is a jewel in the roughsagar bolisetti is a jewel in the roughsagar bolisetti is a jewel in the rough
Default

Hello Hendry,

The crane moves with offset,that will use the acceleration/deceleration.You can get rid off by going to the crane’s Taskexecutor tab and set the dropdown option on the right to "Do not travel offsets for load/unload tasks".You should use network node in this case.This should remove the offset travel and crane moves at constant speed.

Last edited by sagar bolisetti; 06-12-2015 at 02:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sagar bolisetti For This Useful Post:
hendry teo (06-12-2015)
  #5  
Old 06-12-2015
hendry teo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Sagar

Thank you for your help. But I cannot use network node for my model.

Hendry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2015
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 635
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Hendry,

a small model to test acceleration and deceleration
TestCraneAcceleratinDeceleration-JV.fsm
Jörg
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
hendry teo (06-13-2015), Sebastian Hemmann (06-16-2015)
  #7  
Old 06-13-2015
hendry teo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Jorg!

Thank you so much for the model. Now I can substantiate that the crane is moving at a constant speed.

Hendry!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set up end speed for travel Yiheng Feng Q&A 2 05-27-2013 09:36 AM
Constant content of queue (or CONWIP) Stefan Trabut Q&A 4 05-04-2011 06:16 AM
Model Speed Alistair Smitheman Q&A 14 04-06-2009 12:45 PM
Crane Logic: How to find out what a crane currently is doing? Tom David Q&A 5 06-02-2008 11:57 PM
Increasing Run Speed Alex Christensen Tips and Tricks 3 05-14-2008 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.