ATTENTION

This FlexSim Community Forum is read-only. Please post any new questions, ideas, or discussions to our new community (we call it Answers) at https://answers.flexsim.com/. Our new Question & Answer site brings a modern, mobile-friendly interface and more focus on getting answers quickly. There are a few differences between how our new Q&A community works vs. a classic, threaded-conversation-style forum like the one below, so be sure to read our Answers Best Practices.


flexsim.com

Go Back   FlexSim Community Forum > FlexSim Software > Q&A
Downloads

Q&A Using Flexsim and building models

  #1  
Old 08-01-2013
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 211
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default I want to get the WIP value of the compared with lines..

I want to compare with some similar but three different lines.

Line #1 = 10 processors Without any buffer and with same constant Standard Time.
Line #2 = 10 processors without any buffer and with normal distribution ST.
Line #3 = 10 proc. with 9 buffers and with normal distribution ST.

I want to compare with the lead times, WIP and throughput etc.

But the value of WIP is not correct. I want to know the reason.
And I want to display the each line WIP trend in dashboard not total WIP.
How can I do it?

Thanks.

P.S
If the model will be displayed normally, the MCs should be changed to processor object.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-08-01_195342.jpg (19.0 KB, 104 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip LineBufferTestTEST.ZIP (181.9 KB, 85 views)
  #2  
Old 08-01-2013
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 642
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello syseo,

you run in a problem most of my students run into, too.
You use only one random stream. Each statistical distribution should use a unique random stream.

if you want to update the processtime in the label of your items you can use the following source code in the Process Time
Code:
double processtime = normal(Standard_Time,ST_variation,1);
inc(label(item,"TotalProcTime"),processtime);
return /**/processtime/**direct*/;
You don't have to set the creationtime of your items in a label, you can get this time with the command getcreationtime(obj). This works even with the items.

The increasing staytime you see in your last line, I would expect too. The process time varies roughly between 1 and 19 seconds. The accumulation is the natural effect of the queues.

Jörg

Last edited by Jörg Vogel; 08-01-2013 at 08:28 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
syseo (08-01-2013)
  #3  
Old 08-01-2013
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 211
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default Thanks for your instruction but what I want to get is the WIP value of each lines.

WIP is not correct in the lines.
I subtract the output of last processor from the input of the first processor.
But the value is different from the existing items in the line.

What's the problem?

And how can I compare with the WIP of each lines?
  #4  
Old 08-01-2013
Ryan Haferbecker's Avatar
Ryan Haferbecker Ryan Haferbecker is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Elk River, Mn
Posts: 24
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 142
Ryan Haferbecker is on a distinguished road
Default

Syseo,

What appears is happening is that you are subtracting the items one process earlier than they will enter the sink, which is the actual time they are removed from your line and WIP. I edited the on entry code to Que_Line 1 to the following and I believe this is the result you are looking for.

setlabelnum(current,"WIP_Qty",getoutput(centerobje ct(current,2))-getinput(outobject(current,1)));

Ryan
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ryan Haferbecker For This Useful Post:
Kris Geisberger (08-02-2013)
  #5  
Old 08-01-2013
Jörg Vogel's Avatar
Jörg Vogel Jörg Vogel is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 643
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 802
Thanked 665 Times in 410 Posts
Rep Power: 642
Jörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond reputeJörg Vogel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hello Syseo,

I build a model with visual tool as container.
The sum of all items is the contentunder(obj visual tool) - (objects in the container). This value is set to a time-weighted trackedvariable, e.g. on exit of the last processor in the line.

That's work fine.

Jörg

LineBufferTest_Question_JV.fsm

Last edited by Jörg Vogel; 12-03-2014 at 02:31 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Jörg Vogel For This Useful Post:
syseo (08-01-2013)
  #6  
Old 08-01-2013
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 211
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default Dear. Thank you, but the WIP count qty is not correct...

Dear Jorg. Thank you but...

The WIP count quantity is not same with the quantity to be displayed on screen.

The line 1 : 9 but the screen displays 8 items.

What's the problem?

I attached the snap captured.

You can find it when run and stop ...

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip WIP Count Error.zip (332.4 KB, 63 views)

Last edited by syseo; 08-01-2013 at 10:45 PM.
  #7  
Old 08-01-2013
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 211
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default How to get the WIP and Lead Time?

I have some troubles or bugs(?) when get the values of them.

I found the differences of them between the counted values and the screen display.

What's the problem of them?

I attached the screen captured and the model.

I want to receive anyone's help.
Attached Files
File Type: fsm Line_Test_For_With-WIthout-Buffer_v2.0.fsm (65.3 KB, 64 views)
File Type: zip WIP and Lead Time Bug.zip (258.5 KB, 68 views)
  #8  
Old 08-01-2013
Kris Geisberger Kris Geisberger is offline
Flexsim Canada, Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 209
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 1
Thanks: 99
Thanked 389 Times in 133 Posts
Rep Power: 451
Kris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud ofKris Geisberger has much to be proud of
Default

Syseo,

Ryan is correct. Use the Step button. You will see that for a moment your line has only 9 items. The OnEntry event of of the leading item entering Que_Line1 (and the Sink) comes before the event which releases the trailing item from the Source... even though they occur at the same "time", one has to be first. Think of it as a single processor, the first needs to leave in order for the next to be allowed to enter. This means that for a moment the processor has a content of zero. You are updating your WIP label in that moment when your system contains one less than its actual capacity.

You need to update a WIP count on both entry AND exit of a system, otherwise you are vulnerable to this reality of discrete event simulation.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Kris Geisberger For This Useful Post:
syseo (08-02-2013)
  #9  
Old 08-02-2013
syseo's Avatar
syseo syseo is offline
Flexsim User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Korea
Posts: 290
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 0
Thanks: 249
Thanked 63 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 211
syseo has a spectacular aura aboutsyseo has a spectacular aura about
Default Thank you, Kris.

Thank you for your Kind explanation, Kris and Ryan.

I have understood your meaning.
It's very interesting.

Thanks a lot.


Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entering and Exiting Waiting Lines Lou Keller FlexSim HC: Tips & Techniques 0 07-25-2013 11:33 AM
I want to know the stuffs about Promodel Medical library compared with flexsim HC. syseo FlexSim HC: Product Announcements 2 04-30-2013 11:10 AM
can't move objects and draw lines Martin Bendig Q&A 2 01-13-2009 05:39 AM


All times are GMT -6.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1993-2018 FlexSim Software Products, Inc.